The founding partners of The Electric Circuit, Québec and Canada's first public charging network, announce the locations of its charging stations

MONTREAL, Jan. 12, 2012 /CNW Telbec/ - This morning, the founding partners of The Electric Circuit - St-Hubert Restaurants, RONA, METRO, the Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT) and Hydro-Québec - announced the locations of the first 90 240-V charging stations for plug-in electric vehicles (see appendix for detailed list). This announcement was made at the Montréal International Auto Show, which officially opens tomorrow at the Palais des Congrès de Montréal.

Powered with clean renewable energy, The Electric Circuit's first 90 charging stations will be available to the public in spring 2012. An additional 30 charging stations will be added by summer, bringing the total to 120. Electric vehicle users will be able to drive worry-free, knowing that a public network of charging stations is available to meet their needs.

There are two main objectives: to provide accessible recharging to the greatest number of drivers and to offer a simple method of payment. The charging service for the Electric Circuit will cost $2.50 per use, or $25 for 10 charges, regardless of the duration of the charge.

"We are very proud to officially launch The Electric Circuit today. The locations announced mark an important step in the development of this network and its roll-out in the greater Montréal and Québec areas," said Pierre-Luc Desgagné, Senior Director, Strategic Planning at Hydro-Québec, on behalf of the founding partners. "The automotive industry is rapidly evolving and we want to be ready to meet our customers' needs by providing easy access to practical services and clean fuel."

View the maps of the locations of charging station in the Montréal and Québec areas:

Launch of The Electric Circuit Web site:

The Electric Circuit Web site allows electric vehicle drivers to learn more about public charging stations. The site features a charging station locator service provided by Hydro-Québec. Users of The Electric Circuit's charging stations will also have access to a 24-hour telephone help line run by CAA Québec.

Quick charging

Hydro-Québec will conduct tests this winter on the first certified quick-charge station at over 400-V. It will be installed in Boucherville this spring and tested on a daily basis in collaboration with the local St-Hubert restaurant. With Hydro-Québec's oversight, The Electric Circuit will then deploy quick-charge stations along Québec's major roads over the course of the next year.

The Electric Circuit

Launched on June 16 of last year, The Electric Circuit is Québec and Canada's first public charging network for plug-in electric vehicles. This initiative marks a major step in the deployment of the charging infrastructure required to support the operation of plug-in electric vehicles in Québec and is in line with the 2011-2020 Action Plan for Electric Vehicles announced by the Québec government on April 7, 2011.

Given that the vast majority of recharging needs will be met at home and at work, this public charging network will play an important role in meeting drivers' backup or emergency needs.

Watch the video on The Electric Circuit [in French only]:

Learn more about Hydro-Québec's transportation electrification projects:


List of the initial public charging station locations in Québec and Canada

Charging stations will be located on commercial sites of the founding partners of The Electric Circuit, in a number of AMT park-and-ride facilities and in some of Hydro-Québec's parking sites. A total of 120 charging stations will first be rolled out in the Montréal and Québec regions:

  • 20 charging stations by RONA
  • 20 charging stations by METRO
  • 20 charging stations by St-Hubert Restaurants
  • 40 charging stations by the AMT
  • 20 charging stations by Hydro-Québec

Here is a list of the locations of the first 90 charging stations:

RONA (RONA L'entrepôt  and Réno-Dépôt) - (*) Projected sites
Anjou 7273, boulevard des Galeries-d'Anjou
Belœil 500, rue Serge-Pépin
Brossard 9800, boulevard Leduc
Laval (*) 1505, boul. Le Corbusier
Montréal 1011, rue du Marché-Central
Pointe-Claire 400, boulevard Brunswick
Québec 1500, rue Bouvier
Québec 3131, avenue Blaise-Pascal
Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville 1221, boulevard des Promenades
Vaudreuil-Dorion 3010, boulevard de la Gare
St-Hubert Restaurants - (*) Projected sites
Brossard 6325, boulevard Taschereau
Châteauguay 290, boulevard D'Anjou
Laval 3325, boulevard Saint-Martin Ouest
Laval  (*) 1111, boulevard des Laurentides
Laval  (*) 1150, boulevard Chomedey 
Longueuil  (*) 1901, boulevard Roland-Therrien
Mirabel  (*) 17525, rue Charles
Montréal 10520, rue Lajeunesse
Montréal-Nord  (*) 10495, boulevard Pie-IX
Pointe-aux-Trembles 12575, rue Sherbrooke Est
Québec 1550, avenue Jules-Verne
Québec 3410, boulevard Sainte-Anne
Québec 5720, boulevard de l'Ormière
Sainte-Julie  (*) 1900, rue Raymond-Blais
Sainte-Thérèse 350, boulevard Labelle
Saint-Jérôme  (*) 270, rue De Martigny Ouest
Saint-Nicolas  (*) 500, rue de l'Aréna
Terrebonne  (*) 1415, boulevard Moody
Vaudreuil-Dorion  (*) 601, avenue Saint-Charles
Boucherville 535, rue Samuel-De Champlain
Kirkland 3801, boulevard Saint-Charles
Laval 1100, boulevard de l'Avenir
Longueuil 395, rue Saint-Charles Ouest
Montréal 1745, rue Fleury Est
Montréal 3600, boulevard Saint-Joseph Est
Québec 2450, boulevard Laurier
Québec 2830, avenue Saint-David
Repentigny 150, rue Louvain
Sainte-Thérèse 214, boulevard René-A.-Robert
Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT)
Boucherville 220, boulevard De Montarville, terminus De Montarville
Brossard 1895, rue Panama, terminus Panama
Brossard 4700, boulevard Lapinière, stationnement Chevrier
Chambly 3001, boulevard Fréchette, stationnement Chambly
Deux-Montagnes 400, boulevard de Deux-Montagnes, gare Deux-Montagnes
Montréal 5275, rue Jean-Talon Ouest, stationnement Namur Est
Montréal 7155, rue Sherbrooke Est, stationnement Radisson
Sainte-Thérèse 6, rue Saint-Alphonse, terminus Sainte-Thérèse
Saint-Laurent 5465, boulevard Henri-Bourassa Ouest, gare Bois-Franc
Terrebonne 4800, côte de Terrebonne, terminus Terrebonne
Beauport 430, rue Ardouin
Lévis 5130, boulevard de la Rive-Sud
Montréal 201, rue Jarry Ouest
Montréal 75, boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest
Montréal 7575, Henri-Bourassa Ouest
Québec 2625, boulevard Lebourgneuf
Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville 705, boulevard Clairevue Ouest


For further information:

Hélène Laurin, Media Relations
Tel.: 514 289-3227

Organization Profile


More on this organization


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890