Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), Congratulating 2012 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Inductees

OTTAWA, Sept. 21, 2012 /CNW/ - As Canadians celebrate the Week of Excellence, I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate the 2012 inductees into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame:

  • Freestyle skier Jean-Luc Brassard, freestyle wrestler Daniel Igali, cross-country skier Beckie Scott, coach Julie Sauvé, and the late Sarah Burke in the builder category
  • Members of the 2006 women's hockey team (Hayley Wickenheiser, Katie Weatherston, Sarah Vaillancourt, Vicky Sunohara, Cherie Piper, Gina Kingsbury, Jayna Hefford, Danielle Goyette, Cassie Campbell, Jennifer Botterill, Gillian Apps, Meghan Agosta, Delaney Collins, Colleen Sostorics, Cheryl Pounder, Caroline Ouellette, Carla MacLeod, Becky Kellar, Gillian Ferrari, Sami Jo Small, Kim St-Pierre and Charline Labonté), and
  • Members of the 2010 men's hockey team (Sidney Crosby, Rich Nash, Ryan Getzlaf, Patrice Bergeron, Corey Perry, Eric Staal, Joe Thornton, Michael Richards, Jonathan Toews, Dany Heatley, Jarome Iginla, Patrick Marleau, Brendan Morrow, Scott Niedermayer, Dan Boyle, Chris Pronger, Drew Doughty, Brent Seabrook, Shea Weber, Duncan Keith, Roberto Luongo, Marc-André Fleury and Martin Brodeur)

As Minister of State (Sport), I am very proud of our 2012 Olympic Hall of Fame inductees. Representing Canada at the highest levels of sport requires commitment and a diversity of skills. These amazing athletes share one thing in common: they have excelled at the highest level of sport competition and have become heroes and role models for all Canadians.

The Harper Government is pleased to support Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes, who are a great source of pride for all Canadians. As the largest single contributor to sport in this country, the Government of Canada supports sport participation and excellence from the playground to the podium.

SOURCE: Canadian Heritage

For further information:

For more information (media only), please contact:

Jenny Van Alstyne
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890