Inspiring video montage captures 10 great Canadian stories

For July 1 celebrations, revisit 10 unforgettable moments from the last 50 years through the lens of our Canada 150 stamps

OTTAWA, JUNE 28, 2017 /CNW/ - Canada Post today unveiled on a fast-paced and touching video that captures the 10 Canada 150 stamps unveiled across the country by prominent Canadians. With this montage, Canadians can share 10 dramatic, emotional stories from the country's last 50 years with their personal networks. They are stories of courage, compassion, innovation and diversity. They unite us, make us proud and move us forward. Share them with pride – and have a wonderful Canada Day!


The 10 Canada 150 stamps and the prominent Canadians who unveiled them are:

  • architect Moshe Safdie unveiled an Expo 67 stamp;
  • the Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., Chief Justice of Canada, unveiled a Constitution stamp;
  • astronaut Jeremy Hansen unveiled a Canadarm stamp;
  • a marriage equality stamp was unveiled by members of The 519, a City of Toronto agency committed to the health, happiness and full participation of LGBTQ communities;
  • country music star Dean Brody unveiled a Trans-Canada Highway stamp;
  • a stamp marking Terry Fox's 1980 Marathon of Hope was unveiled by his sister Judith Fox;
  • a stamp celebrating Nunavut becoming a territory was unveiled with Premier Peter Taptuna and Commissioner of Nunavut Nellie Kusugak;
  • a stamp reliving the Summit Series was unveiled by legendary players Pat Stapleton, Bobby Clarke, Yvan Cournoyer, Pete Mahovlich, Frank Mahovlich, Eddie Johnston, Brad Park, Wayne Cashman and Jean Ratelle. Sean Goldsworthy (representing his father Bill Goldsworthy) and John Ferguson Jr. (representing his father John Ferguson) also participated.
  • Paralympic medallists Arnold Boldt and Lauren Woolstencroft unveiled a stamp celebrating the Paralympic movement in Canada, including the 1976 Paralympic Summer Games in Toronto and the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver;
  • Olympic medallists Greg Joy and Joannie Rochette unveiled the Olympic Games stamp, celebrating the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montréal, the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary and the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. 

To view separate videos of each unforgettable event, please go to


SOURCE Canada Post

For further information: Media Relations, 613-734-8888,


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890