The Michener Awards Foundation - Michener Award: most entries since 2010

OTTAWA, Feb. 27, 2017 /CNW/ - The Michener Foundation announced today that it has received 35 entries for the 2016 Michener Award for public service journalism. This is the most entries received for the Award since 2010
Kim Kierans, Vice-President of the University of King's College and chair of the Michener Award judging panel, said there is a good variety of excellent entries from across Canada submitted by broadcasters, print and online media outlets.

Russell Mills, President of the Michener Foundation, said the organization is delighted with the increase in entries.

"At a time when the news media are struggling to make up for declines in their traditional sources of revenue, it's heartening to see that so many of Canada's news media are still investing in journalistic projects," he said.

"When the public is hearing so much criticism of so-called 'fake news', it's encouraging that so much of the very best journalism, the kind that serves the public interest, is still being done in our country," Mills said.

The Award was established in 1970 by former Governor General Roland Michener and is Canada's premier award for investigative journalism that serves the public interest.

The winner of the 2016 Michener Award is expected to be announced at a ceremony at Rideau Hall in June.


SOURCE Michener Awards Foundation

For further information: Kim Kierans, (902) 422-1271 ext. 164, e-mail:


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890