Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada Announces John Tse as Recipient of Len Marks Pharmacy Advancement Award and Jaiveer Singh as Recipient of the Distinguished Associate of the Year 2017

TORONTO, May 18, 2017 /CNW/ - The Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada (Neighbourhood Pharmacies), announced that John Tse, who has been involved in Canada's retail pharmacy industry for more than 25 years, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Len Marks Pharmacy Advancement Award and that Jaiveer Singh, Chief Executive Officer, Mint Pharmaceuticals (Mint), has been named its 2017 Distinguished Associate of the Year.

The awards will be presented at the Chairman's Dinner, May 23, 2017, during the Pharmacy, Health and Beauty EXPO 2017.

Len Marks Pharmacy Advancement Award

John Tse's pharmacy career started as a pharmacy technician.  He has practiced as a staff pharmacist in a retail setting in a chain pharmacy as well as an independent local community drug store.  In addition to his retail pharmacy experience, he has also practiced and provided oversight in institutional settings serving Long-Term Care Homes.

In addition to the above roles, Mr. Tse has served as a pharmacy manager, pharmacy operations manager, pharmacy buyer, and his most recent role, Vice President, Pharmacy and Cosmetics for London Drugs.

Mr. Tse's commitment to the education and training of pharmacists has been evident throughout his career.  To that end, he has been involved with preceptorship / internship for upcoming pharmacy and commerce graduates, has been a guest lecturer at UBC, and an active member on many BC College of Pharmacists committees, Chain Drug Association of BC, Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada, and Cedar Cottage Association.  Mr. Tse was on the board of directors for London Drugs from 1998-2017, and on the board of Rx Canada for 18 years.  He has also served on the boards of Neighbourhood Pharmacies, BCPhA, and Canadian Liver Foundation (BC). 

His diverse experience in all aspects of the pharmacy business throughout Canada and in other related industries have enabled him to have a deep appreciation for the needs of the profession as well as the needs of the business of pharmacy.  His innovative approach and ability to form strategic partnerships between government and industry have made a difference in the delivery of healthcare in Canada.  

The Len Marks Pharmacy Advancement Award recipient is: Involved in supporting the development and excellence of pharmacy education at the university level, encouraging students to enter pharmacy as a career advance the standards of healthcare delivery; provides an environment ripe for education and training for pharmacy staff to advance the standards of healthcare delivery; and, promotes pharmacy as a community resource in the provision of pharmacy services and brings the attention of government and industry partners to the valuable contribution of community pharmacy. 

Past recipients of the Len Marks Pharmacy Advancement Award include: Sandra Aylward, 2016; David Windross, 2013; Russell Cohen, 2012; Barbara Wells, 2010; Albert Falardeau, 2009; and Sean McKelvey, 2008.

Distinguished Associate of the Year Award

Jaiveer Singh has served in the capacity of Chief Executive Officer at Mint since 2014. Before taking on his current responsibilities, he was Executive Director, Commercial Operations managing Finance, Sales & Marketing, Customer Service and Strategic Initiatives. He has served on the company's board since 2010. Mint has repeatedly been recognized as one of the fastest growing generic pharmaceutical companies in Canada, according to QuintilesIMS, during this period. Mint is committed to delivering high quality and affordable generic pharmaceuticals and healthcare solutions to the Canadian market. The company is an active supporter of pharmacy and community healthcare organizations across the country including Neighbourhood Pharmacies, SickKids, Michael Garron Hospital and BC Children's Hospital.

Mr. Singh is an active member of the Young Presidents' Organization (YPO) and serves on the Industry & Business Advisory Committee of the Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada. Mr. Singh holds an M.B.A. from Columbia University and a B.Sc. from Carnegie Mellon University.

The Distinguished Associate of the Year award honours a Neighbourhood Pharmacies Associate in good standing who displays commitment to Association initiatives, and/or committees and who contributes to the advancement of the community pharmacy industry. 

Past Neighbourhood Pharmacies Distinguished Associates of the Year have included: Peter Hardwick, Apotex Inc, 2016; Don Bird, WN Pharmaceuticals, 2013; Carol MacDonald, Pfizer Canada Inc., 2012; Paul Porter, Advantage International, 2010; Jean Legault, Beiersdorf Canada Inc., 2009; Rita Egan, AstraZeneca Canada Inc., 2008; Rod Sturtridge, Carlton Cards Limited, 2007; and, Jack Kay, Apotex Inc., 2001.

About the Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada:

The Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada represents the business of pharmacy and advocates for Canada's leading pharmacy brands who deliver high value, quality care to Canadians in all models including chain, banner, long-term care, and specialty pharmacies as well as grocery chains and mass merchandisers with pharmacies.  Our focus is on improving the delivery of care environment for pharmacy, while fostering the right business conditions for business success.  By leveraging the over 10,000 points of care with pharmacies conveniently located in every neighbourhood across Canada, we aim to advance sustainable healthcare for all stakeholders.

SOURCE Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada

For further information: Anthony Silva, Chief Operating Officer/Senior Vice President, Stakeholder Relations, Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada,, 416-226-9100 x 4005


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890