Aurora, Goderich, Oakville and Thorold to receive Lieutenant Governor's
Ontario Heritage Award

TORONTO, Feb. 16 /CNW/ - Aurora, Goderich, Oakville and Thorold are each receiving a 2009 Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Community Leadership in heritage conservation and promotion.

"I'm delighted to see communities leading efforts to conserve the unique heritage of this province," said the Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. "They establish a high benchmark that becomes a model for others to follow."

The Lieutenant Governor will present the awards on February 19, in the presence of the Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust, as part of the province's Heritage Week celebrations.

"To succeed in preserving Ontario's heritage, communities must lead by example," said Mr. Alexander. "The recipients of this award should be commended for their efforts to conserve the heritage of this province and for enhancing the quality of life in their communities."

The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Community Leadership is awarded in four population sub-categories. The 2009 award recipients by category are: population under 10,000 - Town of Goderich; population of 10,000 to 50,000 - City of Thorold; population of 50,000 to 125,000 - Town of Aurora; and population over 125,000 - Town of Oakville.

"The people of Aurora are extremely proud of their town and its heritage. Homes and neighbourhoods are beautifully kept, historic buildings respected, natural environments protected and cultural activities enjoyed. Aurora is truly honoured to receive this meaningful award, recognizing all efforts to preserve our past while preparing for our future," said Mayor Phyllis Morris.

"The Town of Goderich is honoured to receive this prestigious award," said Mayor Deb Shewfelt. "I am especially privileged to accept this award having been Mayor in 1976, when, with the support of many volunteers, the Heritage District bylaw was passed by council ensuring the preservation of Goderich's heritage landscape and unique downtown core heritage values."

"I am pleased to accept this prestigious award on behalf of the Town of Oakville and the many volunteers in our community who do so much to preserve and protect our town's history," said Oakville Mayor Rob Burton. "Protecting and preserving our heritage helps make Oakville the most livable town in Canada."

"Though forward-looking, the City of Thorold has long recognized the importance of protecting the buildings and sites that tell the stories of our past," said Thorold Mayor Henry D'Angela. "This honour pays tribute to all in our community who have worked to ensure our heritage is respected and understood by future generations."

The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards are administered by the Ontario Heritage Trust, an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario's heritage.

    Quick Facts:

    -   The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards were established in
        2007 by the Honourable James K. Bartleman, former Lieutenant Governor
        of Ontario, in partnership with the Ontario Heritage Trust.
    -   In addition to the four recipients of the Community Leadership Award,
        19 individuals are being recognized with the Lieutenant Governor's
        Ontario Heritage Award for Lifetime Achievement, and the Lieutenant
        Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Youth Achievement is being
        presented to two groups and one individual.

    Learn More:

    -   See the Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award Recipients 2009

    -   For additional information on the Lieutenant Governor's Ontario
        Heritage Awards, including how to submit nominations, visit or

Aussi disponible en français

SOURCE Ontario Heritage Trust

For further information: For further information: Ontario Heritage Trust: Catrina Colme, Marketing and Communications Coordinator, Telephone: (416) 325-5074, E-mail:; Office of the Lieutenant Governor: Nanda Casucci-Byrne, Chief of Staff, Telephone: (416) 325-7780; Town of Aurora: Michelle Outar, Communications Specialist, Telephone: (905) 727-3123, Ext.: 4229, E-mail:; Town of Goderich: Larry McCabe, Clerk, Telephone: (519) 524-8344, Cell: (519) 955-0364, E-mail:; Town of Oakville: Gisèle Shaw, Manager, Corporate Communications Strategy, Policy & Communications, Telephone: (905) 845-6601, Ext.: 3166, E-mail:; City of Thorold: Wendy Luce, Communications & Administrative Assistant, Telephone: (905) 227-6613, Ext.: 231, E-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890