Two additional provinces join the CCIR Memorandum of Understanding

MONTRÉAL, July 9, 2015 /CNW Telbec/ - Two additional members of the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR) – Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island – have signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) previously announced on June 1, 2015, which is now available on the CCIR website. The other signatories are British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario and Québec.

"This MOU sets out the terms for cooperation and exchange of information across provincial and territorial jurisdictions. We now have six provinces on board and other jurisdictions are expected to join in the coming months," said Patrick Déry, CCIR Chair and Superintendent, Solvency at the Autorité des marchés financiers.

"This initiative will ensure that we can more easily and effectively cooperate and share information on solvency supervision and market conduct of regulated entities across Canada, which will also benefit the industry and consumers," concluded Mr. Déry.

About CCIR

The Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR) is a national association of insurance regulators that traces its roots back to 1914. Its mandate is to support an efficient and effective insurance regulatory system in Canada to serve the public interest.

For further information:

Media Contact:

Sylvain Théberge: 514-940-2176


SOURCE Autorité des marchés financiers

For further information: Sylvain Théberge: 514-940-2176

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890