Recipients of the 2016 Health Canada Awards of Excellence in Nursing announced

OTTAWA, May 9, 2016 /CNW/ - Marking the beginning of National Nursing Week, the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, congratulated Florence Wood, Joyce Ball and Sandra Chapman, the recipients of Health Canada's 2016 Awards of Excellence in Nursing.

Now in its 14th year, Health Canada annually recognizes three nurses for their excellence in their work in First Nations and Inuit communities. Nurses are nominated for this award by their peers to recognize their contribution to the communities they live and work in.  Winners of the award are all front-line nurses who have shown their commitment to excellent in nursing practice through sound judgement, professionalism, leadership and by valuing diversity.  Each year, recipients have demonstrated exceptional dedication to the health and well-being of the communities they have served. 


"This year's recipients of Health Canada's Awards of Excellence in Nursing have demonstrated their exceptional leadership, commitment and passion to their profession. I am proud to recognize Florence Wood, Joyce Ball, and Sandra Chapman for their contributions to the health and well-being of their communities."
The Hon. Jane Philpott
Minister of Health

Associated Links

Health Canada news releases are available on the Internet at:


SOURCE Health Canada

For further information: Contacts: Andrew MacKendrick, Office of Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, 613-957-0200; Media Relations : Health Canada, 613-957-2983; Public Inquiries: 613-957-2991, 1-866 225-0709

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890