/R E P E A T -- Media Advisory - Reshaping Energy 2017: Opportunities and Impacts of Reducing Canadian GHG Emissions/

OTTAWA, April 6, 2017 /CNW/ - Canada's commitment to reduce greenhouse gas emissions brings with it a commitment to improve the way we produce, transport, and consume energy. The low-carbon transformation will influence all sectors of the economy, government actions, and household decisions. Building on the a recently report by The Conference Board of Canada, the Reshaping Energy 2017 conference will explore what the low-carbon transition might look like and the policies and practices that will guide it along the way.

Dr. Hoesung Lee, Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, will join private and public sector leaders at the two-day event to discuss what a low carbon economy will mean for Canada's economy, provinces, industries, and citizens.

When: April 11-12, 2017                                               

Where: Fairmont Chateau Laurier, 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario

Who: Speakers include:

  • Dr. Hoesung Lee, Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  • Craig Alexander, Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist, The Conference Board of Canada
  • Peter Boag, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Fuels Association
  • Dr. John Barrett, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Nuclear Association
  • Eric Anthony Denhoff, Deputy Minister, Alberta Climate Change Office
  • Sean Donnelly, President and Chief Executive Officer, ArcelorMittal Dofasco
  • Alex Ferguson, Vice-President, Policy and Environment, Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
  • Jacob W. Irving, President, Canadian Hydropower Association
  • Dr. Stephen Lucas, Deputy Minister, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Thomas Mueller, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Green Building Council
  • Christopher Ragan, Chair, Ecofiscal Commission and Professor, McGill University
  • Dr. Dan D. Wicklum, Chief Executive, Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance

For the full schedule and times visit: http://www.conferenceboard.ca/conf/energy/agenda.aspx

Media Accreditation is required.

This conference is sponsored by Bruce Power, ATCO, Capital Power, Lafarge, TransCanada, Brookfield, Canadian Natural, Natural Resources Canada, Air Canada, Ontario Power Generation, Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Emissions Reduction Alberta, Chemistry Industry Association of Canada, The Canadian Academy of Engineering.


SOURCE Conference Board of Canada

For further information: or media accreditation, contact: Natasha Jamieson, Communications Coordinator, The Conference Board of Canada, Tel.: 613- 526-3090 ext. 307, E-mail: corpcomm@conferenceboard.ca; Juline Ranger, Director of Communications, The Conference Board of Canada, Tel.: 613- 526-3090 ext. 431, E-mail: corpcomm@conferenceboard.ca


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890