Public Policy Forum Announces 2010 Testimonial Award Winners

Tony Dean, Phil Fontaine, Preston Manning and Carole Taylor to be honoured

OTTAWA, Feb. 18 /CNW Telbec/ - The Public Policy Forum today announced that Tony Dean, former Secretary of the Cabinet and Head of the Ontario Public Service, Phil Fontaine former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, Preston Manning, former Leader of the Opposition, and Carole Taylor, former B.C. Minister of Finance will be the recipients of this year's Annual Testimonial Awards.

This is the 23rd year that the Forum has honoured extraordinary Canadians for their contributions to public life, public policy and governance in Canada. Honourees are nominated by members of the Forum.

In announcing this year's honourees, Board Chair David A. Brown, QC, said "The Forum looks to honour individuals who have made important contributions across sectors. Each have had significant careers in the public eye, and each have continued to contribute to public life and public discourse as private citizens." David Mitchell, President and CEO of the Forum added that "Throughout their careers, these Testimonial Award honourees engaged in critical conversations about our country, our public policy and our future. Each of them has made indelible impressions on the fabric of Canada."

The awards will be presented at the 23rd Annual Testimonial Dinner in Toronto on April 29th. This year's Dinner will be co-Chaired by Nova Scotia Premier Darrell Dexter, and Toronto Star Columnist Chantal Hébert.

The Public Policy Forum is an independent, non partisan organization dedicated to improving the quality of governance in Canada. For additional information about the Testimonial Dinner, or to purchase tickets, visit

Background and biographical information attached.

Photos available.

About the Testimonial Award

Each year for the past 23 years, the Forum has presented the Testimonial Awards to honour Canadian leaders who have contributed to public life in this country. Over 80 Canadians from various walks of professional life have been recognized for their work across sectors - public, private and not-for profit.

The Forum has grown from the belief that government is too important to be left to government alone. To achieve and compete on the world stage, Canada needs committed individuals and organizations from all sectors talking together, debating with each other, and sharing their ideas and experiences.

This year we celebrate four outstanding individuals who have sought to improve public policy and governance in this country and who have furthered the national conversation.

Biographical Notes

Tony Dean

In 1989 Tony Dean joined the Ontario public service, serving as both the Deputy Minister of Labour and the Deputy Minister of Policy in the Cabinet Office, before serving as Secretary of the Cabinet and Head of the Ontario Public Service from 2002-2008. Prior to entering the Ontario public service, he worked for 10 years in public sector collective bargaining. Tony Dean is a Professor in the School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Toronto, and Senior Research Fellow at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. He is an advisor on public service reform and on building capacity for policy and delivery and is currently chairing an Expert Advisory Panel reviewing Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety System.

Phil Fontaine

Phil Fontaine was first elected to a leadership position in 1973, when he became the Chief of the Sagkeeng community in Manitoba for two consecutive terms. He then worked for the federal government in the Yukon. Upon his return to Manitoba, Mr. Fontaine was elected to the position of Manitoba Regional Chief for the Assembly of First Nations. When his term expired in 1991, he was elected Grand Chief of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs where he served three consecutive terms. In 1997 he was elected National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations and served three terms in that position. Currently, Mr. Fontaine is serving as a Special Advisor at RBC where he has been involved in key corporate citizenship and sponsorship initiatives, including the Vancouver 2010 Olympics.

Preston Manning

Prior to entering federal politics, Preston Manning owned and operated an Edmonton-based research and management consulting firm. Mr. Manning served as a Member of the Canadian Parliament from 1993 to 2001. He founded two new political parties - the Reform Party of Canada and the Canadian Reform Conservative Alliance. Mr. Manning served as Leader of the Opposition from 1997 to 2000 and was also his party's critic for Science and Technology. In 2002, Mr. Manning released a book entitled Think Big. Mr. Manning is currently President and CEO of the Manning Centre for Building Democracy. Mr. Manning continues to write, speak, and teach on a variety of subjects including strengthening relations between the scientific and political communities.

Carole Taylor

Carole Taylor began her career as a journalist, working for both CTV and CBC over the years. In 1986 she was elected as an Alderman for the City of Vancouver. After two terms at the municipal level she served as the Chair of the Vancouver Port and then as the Chair of the Canada Ports Corporation. In 2001, Ms. Taylor became the Chair of the Board of CBC/Radio-Canada. In 2005, she successfully ran for provincial office, and was subsequently appointed as the British Columbia Minister of Finance. In 2008 she resigned her seat, and was named by federal Finance Minister Jim Flaherty as the Chair of the Economic Advisory Council.

SOURCE Public Policy Forum

For further information: For further information: Linda Kristal, Public Policy Forum, (613) 238-7858 ext 229,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890