Government of Canada renews partnership with 33 Treaty-based co-management boards and committees in the Northwest Territories

YELLOWKNIFE, Aug. 24, 2017 /CNW/ - Supporting the ongoing implementation of modern treaties is key to advancing reconciliation in Canada and improving the quality of life for Indigenous peoples and communities.

Today, the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, announced new multi-year funding agreements that will support the co-management boards and committees, established under the Inuvialuit, Gwich'in, Sahtu and Tlicho treaties, in carrying out their roles in the stewardship of natural resources in the Northwest Territories.

The new agreements represent an additional $6.2 million investment by the Government of Canada for co-management and community participation in the Northwest Territories. This 40% increase in core funding will stabilize operations of the 33 boards and committees and reflects Canada's commitment to respect the co-management treaty rights in these modern Indigenous treaties. Total annual core funding support for these boards and committees has increased from $15.5 to $21.7 million.

Minister Bennett also congratulated the following Canadians on their recent appointments to the following boards and committees in the Northwest Territories:

Ms. Edna Tobac - Member - Sahtu Land Use Planning Board
Ms. Kimberly Fairman - Member - Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board
Mr. Arthur Boutilier - Member - Gwich'in Land Use Planning Board
Mr. David Livingstone - Chairperon - Inuvialuit Environmental Impact Screening Committee
Ms. Violet Doolittle - Member - Sahtu Land and Water Board


"These boards and committees play a critical role in land use, environmental assessment and resource regulation in the Northwest Territories. Funding renewal was long overdue as most of these funding arrangements were set over 14 years ago and no longer reflect operational needs. Establishing a modern funding regime for these boards and committees will ultimately serve to better support the spirit of these treaties."

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, M.D., P.C., M.P.
Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

"I thank Minister Bennett and her Department for recognizing the importance of long term, stable and predictable funding that is essential for our boards to do their important analyses.  Our co-management system is a model of resource stewardship and cooperation between multiple governments.  I would also like to thank those recently appointed for putting their names forward to fill these important roles."

Michael McLeod
Member of Parliament for Northwest Territories

Quick Fact

  • The Inuvialuit, Gwich'in, Sahtu and Tlicho treaties establish four types of co-management boards: land use planning, land and water regulation, environmental assessment and renewable resources.

Associated Links
Role of Boards in NWT Resource Management 
Ministerial Appointments


Stay Connected
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and Flickr.

You can subscribe to receive our news releases and speeches via RSS feeds. For more information or to subscribe, visit


SOURCE Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

For further information: Sabrina Williams, Press Secretary, Office of the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, 613-697-8316; INAC Media Relations, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, 819-953-1160

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890