CASN announces the recipients of the 2009 CASN Awards!

OTTAWA, Oct. 30 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing is proud to announce the recipients of the 2009 CASN Awards. CASN has been recognizing the commitment of Canadian nursing education leaders since 1988. This year, CASN is honoured to be presenting awards to six outstanding leaders:

The Ethel Johns Award, presented to Madeleine Buck, McGill University, in recognition of distinguished service to nursing education. Madeleine Buck has significantly strengthened the quality of nursing education internationally through her contributions to the development of nursing educational standards, nationally through her extensive work in advancing the accreditation process, and at her own university as an innovative and highly respected educator and scholar.

The Award for Academic Administrative Excellence, awarded to Dr. Betty Cragg, University of Ottawa, for her contributions as an administrator and leader in strengthening the quality of undergraduate nursing education during pivotal periods of transition and in advancing the growth and development of graduate programs.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Education, presented to Dre. Louise Dumas, Université du Québec en Outaouais, for her outstanding capacity to link research and practice in her teaching and bring both passion and empathy to her role as an educator.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Education - Non-Tenure, conferred to Elizabeth Butcher (posthumously), University of Toronto, for her outstanding contributions to education by sustaining teaching activities of the highest quality.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Research, awarded to Dr. Alexander Clark, University of Alberta, for his extensive and influential program of research on the psychosocial and contextual dimensions of cardiovascular disease, and for his mentorship and capacity building of students and new scholars.

The Wendy McBride Excellence Award for Accreditation Reviewers, presented in its inaugural year to Dr. Lan Gien, Memorial University, for her commitment to the role of a reviewer and her ability to promote excellence in nursing education by assisting programs through the accreditation process.

CASN applauds the commitment to excellence and continued contributions of these leaders in nursing education, administration, research and accreditation. An awards reception will be held November 16th, 2009 at the Hilton Lake Leamy in Gatineau, to officially present the awards to these recipients.

The Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing is the national voice for nursing education, research, and scholarship and represents baccalaureate and graduate nursing programs across Canada. CASN's objectives are to lead nursing education and nursing scholarship in the interest of healthier Canadians.

SOURCE Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing

For further information: For further information: please contact or by phone at (613) 235-3150

Organization Profile

Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890