Canadian securities regulators release report on 2013-2016 achievements

MONTRÉAL, July 6, 2016 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today released a report on the work achieved under its three-year Business Plan for the period of April 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

The report outlines the accomplishments of CSA Members during this period in the areas of:

  • retail investor protection,
  • capital raising by small and medium sized enterprises and exempt market initiatives,
  • shareholder democracy and protection,
  • market regulation,
  • enforcement effectiveness, and
  • information technology.

"In June 2013, CSA Members embarked on an ambitious three-year plan encompassing deliverables in all areas fundamental to our mission, with a particular emphasis on investor protection initiatives," said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. "While future deliverables will be highlighted in our upcoming Business Plan for 2016-2019, it is important to acknowledge the impressive body of work completed by the CSA Members' staff working collectively over the past three years."

The CSA Report on Achievements for 2013-2016 is available on the websites of the CSA and its various members.

The CSA is the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, which co‑ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.


For more information:

Alison Walker

Kristen Rose

British Columbia Securities Commission

Ontario Securities Commission



Mark Dickey

Sylvain Théberge

Alberta Securities Commission

Autorité des marchés financiers



Jason (Jay) Booth

Andrew Nicholson

Manitoba Securities Commission

Financial and Consumer Services


Commission, New Brunswick


Tanya Wiltshire

Janice Callbeck

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Office of the Superintendent of Securities




John O'Brien

Rhonda Horte

Office of the Superintendent of Securities

Office of the Yukon Superintendent of

Newfoundland and Labrador




Jeff Mason

Tom Hall

Nunavut Securities Office

Office of the Superintendent of Securities


Northwest Territories


Shannon McMillan

Financial and Consumer Affairs

Authority of Saskatchewan



SOURCE Autorité des marchés financiers

For further information: Alison Walker, British Columbia Securities Commission, 604-899-6713; Kristen Rose, Ontario Securities Commission, 416-593-2336; Mark Dickey, Alberta Securities Commission, 403-297-4481; Sylvain Théberge, Autorité des marchés financiers, 514-940-2176; Jason (Jay) Booth, Manitoba Securities Commission, 204-945-1660; Andrew Nicholson, Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick, 506-658-3021; Tanya Wiltshire, Nova Scotia Securities Commission, 902-424-8586; Janice Callbeck, Office of the Superintendent of Securities, P.E.I., 902-368-6288; John O'Brien, Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Newfoundland and Labrador, 709-729-4909; Rhonda Horte, Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities, 867-667-5466; Jeff Mason, Nunavut Securities Office, 867-975-6591; Tom Hall, Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Northwest Territories, 867-767-9305; Shannon McMillan, Financial and Consumer Affairs, Authority of Saskatchewan, 306-798-4160


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890