Canadian Business Press announces the Winners of the 59th annual Kenneth R. Wilson Awards

TORONTO, June 4, 2013 /CNW/ - Canadian Business Press is proud to announce the winners of the 59th annual Kenneth R. Wilson Awards for Canadian business-to-business magazine publishing. From nearly 600 submissions nationwide, the KRW Award judges nominated 165 submissions from 63 different B2B publications. Gold, Silver and Honourable Mention awards were presented in 24 written, visual, digital and special categories this evening's gala at the Grand Banking Hall at One King West in Toronto, presented by CDS Global, and hosted by Tom Gierasimczuk, vice-president, editorial content, at Canada Wide Media.

For a complete list of nominees and winners—and to view the KRW Awards Gold Book—visit

Magazines of the Year
The winner of the 2012 Kenneth R. Wilson Award for Magazine of the Year—Professional is Up Here Business, published by Up Here Publishing: Marion Lavigne (publisher); Guy Quenneville (editor); Michael Ericsson (art director).

What the KRW Awards judges said about Up Here Business:
Up Here Business has proved once again that it is a must read not only for businesses in the North but in the rest of Canada as well. The content celebrates the entrepreneurial spirit, breaking down the challenges and highlighting the benefits in thoughtful, well-written stories and compelling photography. Its editorials strike a good balance between the celebratory and the critical. The storytelling is adept, and the magazine as a whole has a voice; its headlines and cut lines have wit. In every aspect, Up Here Business's commitment to serving its audience is admirable.

The winner of the 2012 Kenneth R. Wilson Award for Magazine of the Year—Trade is Oilweek, published by JuneWarren-Nickle's Energy Group, a division of Glacier Media Inc: Chaz Osburn (publisher); Dale Lunan (editor); Cath Ozubko (art director).

What the KRW Awards judges said about Oilweek:
Oilweek is outstanding in its comprehensive coverage of Canada's oil and gas industry. The flow of its storytelling is impeccable; its columns are insightful and authoritative. The magazine's design and commitment to a strong balance of photographs and graphics supply the reader with stimulating entry points to the content. Its front-of-book "Patch" and its ongoing coverage of the Northern Gateway pipeline project are especially noteworthy. Oilweek is a stunningly good publication.

Top Winning Magazines at the 59th Kenneth R. Wilson Awards:

Magazine Gold Silver Honourable
Marketing 3 2 9
CAmagazine 3 1 13
Up Here Business 2 0 4
OHS Canada 2 0 3
Conseiller 2 0 0
Les Affaires 1 2 6
Precedent 1 2 5
Le Coopérateur agricole 1 2 0
University Affairs 1 1 6
Alberta Oil 1 1 2

Also winning a Gold Award were Advisor's Edge, Canadian Healthcare Network, Foodservice & Hospitality, Jobpostings Magazine, Listed, Oilsands Review, Oilweek and Premium.

Also winning a Silver Award were Benefits Canada, CMA magazine, Design Edge Canada, Graphic Monthly Canada, Plant and Professionally Speaking.

Best Cover
The Gold award for Best Cover of 2012 went to Oilsands Review, for their September 2012 cover, by Cath Ozubko, Joel Kadziolka and Deborah Jaremko.

The Silver award went to Precedent, for "Precedent Setter Awards" by Barb Woolley, Daniel Ehrenworth and Miki Arai.

Best Issue
The Gold award for Best Issue of 2012 went to Les Affaires, for the May 19, 2012 issue "Le pouvoir créatif."

The Silver award went to Marketing, for "Facebook Rules" from February 20, 2012.

Website of the Year
The award for Website of the Year went to, the website of Precedent magazine, by Melissa Kluger, Christina Cheung, Rose Hendrie, Melanie Dziengo and ResIM.

Best New Journalist
The inaugural Kenneth R. Wilson Award for Best New Journalist went to Katie Keir for her article "When Good Partners go Bad" in Advisor's Edge.

Art Direction of a Complete Issue
The Gold award for Best Art Direction of a Complete Issue went to Premium, for "Numéro 12," art direction by Louise Rouleau.

The Silver award went to Precedent, for "Precedent Setter Awards" by Barb Woolley and Miki Arai.

Best Illustration
The Gold award for Best Illustration went to Sarah Tyson, for "Personal Financial Planning" in CAmagazine.

The Silver award went to Tara Hardy, for "Friends with Health Benefits" in Benefits Canada.

Best Photograph
The Gold award went to Ian McCausland, for "From Fired to Inspired" in Foodservice & Hospitality.

The Silver award went to Nigel Dickson, for "He knows the Drill" in CAmagazine.

Best Art Direction of an Opening Spread / Complete Feature
Gold: Underline Studio
In Praise of Literature
University Affairs

Silver: Jo-Anne Martin Grier, Michael Alberstat, Jacqueline Kovacs, Leata Lekushoff, Stephanie Saunders
Supplies in Demand
Professionally Speaking

Best Editorial
Gold: Yves Bonneau
Point de vue

Silver: Joe Terrett
Electro-Motive: The Greed Factor

Best Feature Article—Professional
Gold: Sophie Stival
Liquidateur : un rôle crucial et délicat

Silver: Naheed Mustafa
The Trillion-Dollar Pie
CMA magazine

Best Feature Article—Trade
Gold: Jason Contant
Lingering Shadows
OHS Canada

Silver: Nicolas Mesly
Au coeur de la Bourse de Chicago
Le Coopérateur agricole

Best How-To Article or Series of How-To Articles
Gold: David Tal
Learning Super Skills
Jobpostings Magazine

Silver: Marie-Ève Fournier
Comment durer 100 ans en affaires
Les Affaires

Best Industrial / Manufacturing Article
Gold: Jason Contant
Death by Design
OHS Canada

Silver: Pierre Théroux
La menace du patriotisme industriel
Les Affaires

Best Merchandising / Marketing Article
Gold: Kristin Laird
Everybody Loves Target

Best News Coverage
Gold: Nicolas Mesly
La vie après la Commission canadienne du blé
Le Coopérateur agricole

Silver: Rosanna Tamburri
All about MOOCs
University Affairs

Best One-of-a-Kind Article
Gold: Guy Quenneville
Devolution for Dummies
Up Here Business

Silver: Alicia Androich, David Brown, Tom Gierasimczuk, Kristin Laird, Jeromy Lloyd, Russ Martin
30 Under 30

Best Professional Article
Gold: Mark Anderson
(tie) The Changing Face of Risk Management

Gold: John Lorinc
(tie) Waste Watchers

Best Profile of a Company
Gold: Tom Gierasimczuk
Vice Age

Silver: Nicolas Mesly
Fonterra, la perle convoitée du Pacifique
Le Coopérateur agricole

Best Profile of a Person
Gold: Chris Powell
Hot Potato

Silver: Jef Catapang
Printer of the Year
Graphic Monthly Canada

Best Regularly Featured Department or Column
Gold: David Malamed

Silver: Jef Catapang, Nancy Kay Clark
Case Study
Design Edge Canada

Best Resource / Infrastructure Article
Gold: Jeff Lewis
The Nordic Way
Alberta Oil

Silver: Darren Campbell
Black Art
Alberta Oil

Best Website Editorial Package
Gold: Brandon Tenebaum, Brett Ruffell
Brandon Tenebaum Blog
Canadian Healthcare Network

Visit for all the winners, and to download your free copy of the 59th Kenneth R. Wilson Awards Gold Book.

The 59th annual Kenneth R. Wilson Awards are produced by the Canadian Business Press. The KRW Awards recognizes the outstanding efforts of business-to-business magazine content and is supported in part by the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage. The KRW Awards gratefully acknowledges its suppliers and its contributors who donated gifts in kind to support the awards program. We thank them for their generosity, interest and expertise.

To view all of this year's winners as well as the sponsors, partners and judges of this year's Kenneth R. Wilson Awards, visit


SOURCE: National Magazine Awards Foundation

For further information:

Richard A. Johnson, Media Liaison 

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890