Writers' Trust Announces First Fiction-Prize Shortlists of the Season

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize features debut novel; strong indie-press presence; consecutive nominations for Alexis

TORONTO, Sept. 29, 2015 /CNW/ - The Writers' Trust of Canada revealed this morning the finalists for two major prizes for excellence in Canadian fiction: the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Writers' Trust/McClelland and Stewart Journey Prize. The announcement was made at Ben McNally Books in Toronto.

The five finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year's best novel or short story collection, were announced by Jan Innes, vice president, government relations, Rogers Communications, along with writer and prize juror Shani Mootoo. The three finalists for the Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year, were announced by writer and prize juror Anthony De Sa.

Both prizes will be presented on November 3 at the Writers' Trust Awards event in Toronto's Glenn Gould Studio.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize:

  • André Alexis (Toronto) for FIFTEEN DOGS, Coach House Books.
  • Elizabeth Hay (Ottawa) for HIS WHOLE LIFE, McClelland & Stewart.
  • Pamela Mordecai (Kitchener) for RED JACKET, TAP Books.
  • Russell Smith (Toronto) for CONFIDENCE, Biblioasis.
  • John Vaillant (Vancouver) for THE JAGUAR'S CHILDREN, Knopf Canada.

Each of the five finalists will receive $2,500. The prizewinner will receive a total of $25,000. The finalists were chosen by a jury composed of writers Aislinn Hunter, Shani Mootoo, and Richard Wagamese. They read 127 books from 50 publishers. The prize is sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize will appear at the International Festival of Authors in Toronto on October 28 and in Hamilton, Ontario, on October 29. Event information is available at ifoa.org.

Finalists for the Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize:

  • Emily Bossé (Fredericton) for "LAST ANIMAL STANDING ON GENTLEMAN'S FARM," The Fiddlehead.
  • Deirdre Dore (Nakusp, BC) for "THE WISE BABY," Geist.
  • Anna Ling Kaye (Vancouver) for "RED EGG AND GINGER," Prairie Fire.

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000, the prizewinner will receive a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry will receive $2,000. The finalists were chosen by Anthony De Sa, Tanis Rideout, and Carrie Snyder. The prize is made possible by James A. Michener's donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1988 novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart will publish the 2015 edition of the annual fiction anthology The Journey Prize Stories, a collection of the 12 stories that formed the longlist for this year's prize.

About the Writers' Trust
The Writers' Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including ten national literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers' retreat. Writers' Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada's writers receive more financial support from the Writers' Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country. For more information visit writerstrust.com.

About the Writers' Trust Awards event
An annual event awarding $139,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers' Trust Awards evening is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. Author and journalist Elizabeth Renzetti (The Globe and Mail) will emcee this year's festivities in Toronto on November 3, 2015. Four additional prizes for a body of work will be presented at the ceremony:

  • Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize ($25,000)
  • Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life ($20,000)
  • Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People ($20,000)
  • Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award ($25,000)

The Writers' Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. As a media partner, The Globe and Mail provides additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage Canada Book Fund.

SOURCE The Writers' Trust of Canada

For further information: and interview opportunities contact: Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502, bt@beckytoyne.com


Organization Profile

The Writers' Trust of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890