Writers' Trust Announces First Fiction-Prize Shortlists of the Season

Anansi dominates Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize with 3 nominations

TORONTO, Sept. 30, 2013 /CNW/ - The Writers' Trust of Canada revealed this morning the finalists for two fiction prizes. The announcement was made at Ben McNally Books.

The five finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year's best novel or short story collection, were announced by Jan Innes, vice president, government relations, Rogers Communications, along with writer and prize juror Alison Pick; the three finalists for the Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year, were announced by juror and past prize winner Miranda Hill.

Both prizes, along with four additional awards for a body of work, will be presented on November 20 at the Writers' Trust Awards event in Toronto's Glenn Gould Studio. Total prize money presented that night will amount to $114,000.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize:

  • Krista Bridge, The Eliot Girls (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Lynn Coady, Hellgoing (House of Anansi Press)
  • Cary Fagan, A Bird's Eye (House of Anansi Press)
  • Colin McAdam, A Beautiful Truth (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
  • Lisa Moore, Caught (House of Anansi Press)

Each of the five finalists will receive $2,500, with the eventual prizewinner receiving a total of $25,000. The finalists were chosen by a jury of Caroline Adderson, Alison Pick, and Miguel Syjuco. They read 115 books from 50 publishers. The prize is sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize will appear at the International Festival of Authors in Midland, Ontario, October 29 and in Toronto on October 30.

Finalists for the Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize:

  • Doretta Lau, "How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?" (Event)
  • Eliza Robertson, "My Sister Sang" (Grain)
  • Naben Ruthnum, "Cinema Rex" (The Malahat Review)

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000, with the eventual prizewinner receiving a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry receiving $2,000. The finalists were chosen by a jury of Miranda Hill, Mark Medley, and Russell Wangersky. The prize is made possible by James A. Michener's donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1988 novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart will publish the 2013 edition of the annual fiction anthology The Journey Prize Stories, a collection of the 12 stories that formed the longlist for this year's prize.

To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Journey Prize anthology, special events featuring past contributors will take place at the Vancouver Writers Fest on October 27 and the International Festival of Authors in Toronto on October 31.

"These awards recognize our world-class Canadian talent, giving the finalists affirmation from a jury of their peers, and bringing their work to the attention of readers from across the country," said Mary Osborne, executive director, Writers' Trust of Canada. "We are honored to add this year's slate of finalists to the ever-expanding tribe of great authors who have received nominations for Writers' Trust awards."

High-resolution images of the finalists and their nominated books are available for download at writerstrust.com.

To facilitate the promotion of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize nominated books, an online catalogue for retailers has been created through BookNet Canada's CataList program:  https://bnccatalist.ca/ViewCatalogue.aspx?id=2900.

About the Writers' Trust
The Writers' Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers' retreat. Writers' Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada's writers receive more financial support from the Writers' Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

About the Writers' Trust Awards
An annual event awarding $114,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers' Trust Awards evening is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. Jared Bland, books editor, The Globe and Mail, will emcee this year's festivities in Toronto on November 20, 2013. Four additional prizes for a body of work will be presented at the ceremony:

  • Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life ($20,000)
  • Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People ($20,000)
  • Writers' Trust Distinguished Contribution Award
  • Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award ($25,000)

The Writers' Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. As a media partner, The Globe and Mail provides additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage Canada Book Fund.

SOURCE: The Writers' Trust of Canada

For further information:

For more information and interview opportunities contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502, bt@beckytoyne.com

Organization Profile

The Writers' Trust of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890