Writers' Trust Announces Finalists for 20th Anniversary Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

New and veteran voices featured on landmark year's shortlist

TORONTO, Sept. 21, 2016 /CNW/ - The Writers' Trust of Canada has revealed this morning the finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year's best novel or short story collection. The prize is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year.

The five finalists are:

  • Michael Helm (Dundas, ON) for AFTER JAMES, McClelland & Stewart
  • Anosh Irani (Vancouver, BC) for THE PARCEL, Knopf Canada
  • Kerry Lee Powell (Moncton, NB) for WILLEM DE KOONING'S PAINTBRUSH, Harper Avenue
  • Yasuko Thanh (Victoria, BC) for MYSTERIOUS FRAGRANCE OF THE YELLOW MOUNTAINS, Hamish Hamilton
  • Katherena Vermette (Winnipeg, MB) for THE BREAK, House of Anansi

Each of the finalists will receive $2,500. The prizewinner will receive a total of $25,000. The finalists were selected by a jury composed of writers Lauren B. Davis, Trevor Ferguson, and Pasha Malla. They read 135 books submitted by 55 publishers. The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997.

Past prizewinners include: Austin Clarke (1997), Helen Humphreys (2000), Alice Munro (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Lawrence Hill (2007), Miriam Toews (2008, 2014), and André Alexis (2015).

"Canadian literature reflects and informs our national voice, history, and culture," said Steve Maich, senior vice president, digital content and publishing, at Rogers Communications Inc. "As a Canadian communications company, Rogers is proud to have sponsored this prize for two decades: supporting Canadian voices, celebrating Canadian stories, championing the very best Canadian books."

Finalists for the 20th anniversary Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize will appear at the International Festival of Authors in Toronto on October 25. Event information is available at ifoa.org.

The prizewinner will be announced at the Writers' Trust Awards Ceremony in Toronto's Glenn Gould Studio on November 2. Additional information, including jury citations, downloadable images, and a gallery of past winners, is available at writerstrust.com/rogersfiction.

About the Writers' Trust of Canada
The Writers' Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs that includes ten national literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers' retreat. Writers' Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada's writers receive more financial support from the Writers' Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country. Additional information is available at writerstrust.com.

About the Writers' Trust Awards Ceremony
An annual event awarding $219,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers' Trust Awards Ceremony is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. CBC Radio broadcaster and new host of q Tom Power will emcee this year's event on November 2. In addition to the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, awards to be presented are:

For a single book:

  • Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction

For a single short story:

  • Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

For a body of work:

  • Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize
  • Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life
  • Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People
  • Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award

The Writers' Trust Awards is made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. Partners CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Indigo Chapters provide additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage Book Fund.

SOURCE The Writers' Trust of Canada

For further information: and interview opportunities contact: Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502, bt@beckytoyne.com


Organization Profile

The Writers' Trust of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890