Woolstencroft named flag bearer for Canada at the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic
Winter Games closing ceremonies

WHISTLER, BC, March 21 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) announced Sunday that para-alpine skier Lauren Woolstencroft (North Vancouver) has been selected as flag bearer for Canada at the closing ceremonies of the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games in Whistler.

"The accomplishments of Lauren during these Paralympics will be relived by Canadians for many years to come," said Blair McIntosh, chef de mission, Team Canada. "She has set a new standard for winter Paralympic athletes and has joined an elite group of historic Canadians in sport. Our team is so proud of Lauren. She has earned this incredible recognition."

Woolstencroft became the most decorated female athlete in a single Winter Paralympic Games when she captured her fifth gold medal in Whistler on Saturday in the super combined event. Throughout the 34-year history of the Winter Paralympics, there have been seven women to win four gold in a single Games.

"Lauren's record-breaking performances have raised the profile of the Paralympic Movement in Canada, said Carla Qualtrough, president, Canadian Paralympic Committee. "Through her success on the slopes and her amazing character, Lauren has provided all Canadians with a new role model."

Woolstencroft also tied swimmer Stephanie Dixon and athletics star Chantal Petitclerc as the only three Canadian women to earn five gold medals in a single Paralympics, winter or summer. Woolstencroft now owns 10 medals through three Paralympic Games.

The Closing Ceremonies of the 10th Paralympic Winter Games is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT tonight at Whistler Medals Plaza.

    Games                    Opening Flag Bearer    Closing Flag Bearer

    2010 -                   Jean Labonte           Lauren Woolstencroft
    Vancouver-Whistler       (Sledge Hockey)        (Para-Alpine)

    2006 -                   Todd Nicholson         Colette Bourgonje
    Turin, Italy             (Sledge hockey)        (Para-Nordic)

    2002 -                   Mark Ludbrook          Brian and Robin McKeever
    Salt Lake City, USA      (Para-Alpine)          (Para-Nordic)

    1998 -                   Bill Harriott          Colette Bourgonje
    Nagano, Japan            (Para-Alpine)          (Para-Nordic)

    1994 -                   Lou Mulvihill          Lana Spreeman
    Lillehammer, Norway      (Sledge Hockey)        (Para-Alpine)

    1992 -                   Phil Chew
    Tignes-Albertville,      (Para-Alpine)


    Year   Sport           Event                              Medal

    2002   Alpine Skiing   Women's Giant Slalom LW3,4,9       Bronze
    2002   Alpine Skiing   Women's Slalom LW3,4,9             Gold
    2002   Alpine Skiing   Women's Super-G LW3,4,6/8,9        Gold
    2006   Alpine Skiing   Women's Giant Slalom standing      Gold
    2006   Alpine Skiing   Women's Super-G standing           Silver
    2010   Alpine Skiing   Women's Slalom, Standing           Gold
    2010   Alpine Skiing   Women's Downhill, Standing         Gold
    2010   Alpine Skiing   Women's Super-G, Standing          Gold
    2010   Alpine Skiing   Women's Super Combined, Standing   Gold
    2010   Alpine Skiing   Women's Giant Slalom, Standing     Gold

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) is a non-profit, private organisation with 43 member sports organisations dedicated to strengthening the Paralympic Movement. The CPC is responsible for creating an optimal high-performance environment for the Canadian Paralympic athletes to win at Paralympic and ParaPanAmerican Games. By supporting Canadian Paralympic athletes and promoting their success, the CPC inspires all Canadians with a physical disability to get involved in sport through programs delivered by its member organisations. For more information, visit www.paralympic.ca.

Follow the Canadian Paralympic Committee by becoming a fan on Facebook, and following on Twitter.

SOURCE Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC)

For further information: For further information: Michael Cvitkovic, ABC, Press Chief, Canadian Paralympic Committee, mcvitkovic@tenniscanada.com, Phone: (604) 388-8420; Anna Parisi, Chief of Communications, Canadian Paralympic Committee, aparisi@paralympic.ca, (604) 828-2875; Marie-Helene Cayer, Media Relations (French Media), Canadian Paralympic Committee, mcayer@paralympic.ca, (778) 834-0337

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890