Winners for the 23rd Trillium Book Award Announced

Four Ontario Authors Receive Province's Top Literary Award

TORONTO, June 24 /CNW/ -


Winners of Ontario's foremost prize for literary excellence, the Trillium Book Award, were announced today by the Hon. Michael Chan, Ontario Minister of Tourism and Culture, and Karen Thorne-Stone, President and CEO of the Ontario Media Development Corporation at a luncheon held at the Bram and Bluma Appel Salon.

    -   This year's winner for the Trillium Book Award in English-language

        Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon (Random House Canada)

    -   The winner for the Trillium Book Award in French-language is:

        Ryad Assani-Razaki, Deux cercles (VLB éditeur)

    -   This year's English-language for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry

        Karen Solie, Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)

    -   The winner for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French-language

        Michèle Matteau, Passerelles (Les Éditions L'Interligne)


"As Ontarians, we should be extremely proud of the literary talent found in this province. This year's winners once again show why Ontario shines on the international literary stage."

- Minister of Tourism and Culture, Michael Chan

"The Trillium Book Award acknowledges the contribution of Ontario's internationally-acclaimed authors to both the cultural and economic life of our province. Books are a powerful mode of expression and are an integral part of our cultural fabric. Ontario book publishers continue to demonstrate their extraordinary ability to nurture and develop creative talent that is recognized the world over. Congratulations and thanks are due to all the authors and their publishers for sharing our collective stories with the world."

- Kevin Shea, Chair, Ontario Media Development Corporation


    -   Celebrating its 23rd Anniversary this year, the Trillium Book Award
        is among the most highly regarded national and international literary
        prizes. Previous winners have included world-renowned authors such as
        Margaret Atwood, Wayson Choy, Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Maurice
        Henri and Daniel Poliquin.

    -   Trillium Book Award English-language and French-language winners
        receive $20,000. Publishers of the winning books each receive $2,500
        towards their promotional costs. The respective winners of the
        Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English-language and French-
        language each receive $10,000 and their publishers receive $2,000.
        All finalists receive a $500 honorarium.

    -   The Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French-language is awarded in
        alternating years with the Trillium Book Award for Children's
        Literature in French-language. The Trillium Book Award for Poetry
        recognizes literary achievement for a first, second or third
        published work of poetry.


The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award ( in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and writing.

Ontario Media Development Corporation ( administers the Trillium Book Awards on behalf of the Ministry of Tourism and Culture (

                                                      Disponible en français

                                       Ontario Media Development Corporation

                       23rd ANNUAL TRILLIUM BOOK AWARD

                                                               June 24, 2010


The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award in 1987 to recognize the literary excellence and diversity of Ontario writers and writing. This prestigious Award is unusual because it allows entries from all genres. Over the years it has grown in stature. Today it is considered the province's foremost award for literature.


    -   Ibi Kaslik is an internationally published novelist and freelance
        writer whose recent novel, The Angel Riots, was nominated for the
        Trillium Book Award. She currently teaches creative writing at the
        University of Toronto's School of Continuing Studies.

    -   Meg Taylor has worked for several years in both trade and scholarly
        publishing, including as a freelance editor for Harvard University
        Press, and senior editor at both Doubleday Canada and Key Porter

    -   Rob Winger is an associate editor for Arc poetry magazine, and a poet
        whose work Muybridge's Horse was shortlisted for the Governor
        General's Award for Poetry, the Trillium Book Award for Poetry, and
        the Ottawa Book Award.


    -   Aristote Kavungu is a Canadian author born in Congo whose works
        include three novels published in French language, including Un Train
        pour l'Est, which was a finalist for the Prix des lecteurs de Radio-

    -   Melchior Mbonimpa is a professor in the Department of Religious
        Studies at the University of Sudbury and the Director of its Centre
        for Ethics, as well as a writer who has written four novels to
        critical acclaim.

    -   Aurelie Resch is a Toronto-based author, journalist and filmmaker who
        was nominated to the high distinction les Trophées du Sénat Français
        in 2008 as a result of her many contributions through her work in
        favour of the French culture and literature.


    -   House of Anansi Press specializes in finding and developing Canada's
        new writers of literary fiction, poetry and nonfiction and in
        maintaining a culturally significant backlist that has accumulated
        since the house was founded 40 years ago. (Publisher for Pigeon by
        Karen Solie)

    -   Random House Canada, since beginning its Canadian publishing program
        in 1986, has become a premier general interest publishing imprint,
        featuring a diverse list of literary and quality commercial fiction
        and non-fiction, as well as top Canadian and international cookbooks.
        (Publisher for The Boy in the Moon by Ian Brown)

    -   Les Éditions L'Interligne was founded in Ottawa in 1981. Initially it
        focused on publishing history books and books on Franco-Ontarian
        heritage. (Publisher for Passerelles by Michèle Matteau)

    -   VLB éditeur, a publishing house founded in 1976, publishes novels,
        essays, short stories and books on music. It publishes "literary"
        novels and more specialized essays on history, sociology, literature
        and philosophy. (Publisher for Deux cercles by Ryad Assani-Razaki)


Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) provides a wide range of programs and services to stimulate the growth of the province's entertainment industry including book and magazine publishing, film and television, music and interactive digital media industries.

                                                      Disponible en français

SOURCE Trillium Book Awards

For further information: For further information: Contact Trillium Book Award Winners: Charmaine Khan, Trillium Publicist, MediaProfile, (416) 504-8464, Cell. (416) 277-0450, E-mail:; For French Media Relations: Dane Gergovich, French Trillium Publicist, MediaProfile, (416) 504-8464, E-mail:; Contact for OMDC: Sharon Wilson, OMDC Communications, (416) 642-6616, E-mail:; Contact for Minister Chan: Mukunthan Paramalingham, Minister's Office, (416) 327-4365, E-Mail:, Denelle Balfour, Communications Branch, (416) 212-3928, E-mail:

Organization Profile

Trillium Book Awards

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890