WCT Annual Awards recognize "wavemakers" in technology, broadcasting, communications

OTTAWA, Feb. 17, 2015 /CNW/ - Women in Communications and Technology (WCT) announced today that 15 outstanding leaders and achievers are this year's recipients of its coveted Annual Awards. They are being recognized for their efforts to advance women's representation and achievement in Canada's information, communications and technology sector.

"We were overwhelmed by the number of nominations we received and how deserving the candidates were," says Leanne Park, senior director, professional services and sales support at Cogeco Cable and chair of the WCT awards program and gala. "Qualified, high-calibre women are clearly out there, because we're growing our awards program every year. Canada has no shortage of women with the skills, experience and ambition to be in the top ranks of our ICT sector."

Recognizing women's success and leadership is critical to ongoing efforts to recruit and retain women, especially in ICT. Research by organizations like Catalyst show that despite comparable education, women continue to trail men at every stage of their careers.

"We want to create a ripple event, letting these women's achievements roll out to inspire more like them," says Joanne Stanley, executive director of WCT. "By celebrating leaders like these 15 award recipients and creating opportunities for up-and-comers with our Protégé Project, WCT is showing the best of what women can do, how to be successful, and why diverse companies are the ones that are truly thriving in Canada's digital economy."

The awards will be presented at WCT's much-celebrated Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala at Ottawa's Fairmont Chateau Laurier on April 22, 2015.

The 2015 Annual Award recipients are:

Woman of the Year:
Mary Ann Turcke
Group President, Media Sales Local TV & Radio, Bell Media

Leadership Excellence Awards:

  • Borika Vucinic, Director, TV Engineering and Operations, Bell
  • Clare Beckton, Executive Director, Centre for Women in Politics and Public Leadership, Carleton University
  • Dervla Kelly, Head of Corporate Communications, Shaw Media
  • Heidi Davidson, Senior Vice President, BlackBerry Ltd.
  • Kelly Gillis, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
  • Laurel Broten, President and CEO of Nova Scotia Business Inc.
  • Lisa Lyons, President, Kids Can Press, Corus Entertainment
  • Nikki Moffat, Senior Vice President, Finance, Bell Media
  • Pat DiVittorio, Vice President, Program Planning, Bell Media
  • Robin Hildebrand, Manager, HR & Regulatory, Golden West Broadcasting Ltd.
  • Sandra Saric, Vice President, Information and Communications Technology Council
  • Sandy McIntosh, Senior Vice-President and Chief HR Officer, TELUS
  • Trina Alexson, Vice President of Advance Services, Cisco Canada
  • Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia, President and CEO, Digital Nova Scotia (DNS)

(A backgrounder on all the winners and their awards is available on our website)

About Women in Communications and Technology
Women in Communications and Technology (WCT) is a national association committed to helping women in Canada learn, build strong relationships and advance in telecommunications, media and technology. WCT provides opportunities for its members to network, be mentored, and get access to targeted educational opportunities relevant to their career advancement.


SOURCE Canadian Women in Communications & Technology

For further information: Contact Terra Lariviere at terra.lariviere@rogers.com tel. (647) 230-1818 or Willow Guy at wguy@wct-fct.com tel. (613) 706-0607. To purchase your ticket to the WCT 2015 Annual Awards Gala or reserve a table for your organization, contact us at: info@wct-fct.com or by phone at 613-706-0607.


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890