The OSEntreprendre Challenge honours prizewinners at the 18th Desjardins Grand Prize Gala

QUÉBEC, June 16, 2016 /CNW Telbec/ - Creativity, innovation and excitement were in the air at Québec City's Palais Montcalm as the 18th edition of the OSEntreprendre Gala paid tribute to its provincial prizewinners. Throughout the evening, hosted by Charles Lafortune, 600 guests were inspired by the energy, enthusiasm and courage of a diverse and dynamic generation of entrepreneurs from the 17 regions of Québec.   

An array of 33 provincial prizes were awarded (see attached list), representing a total value of nearly $200 000. This sum does not include the $550 000 already distributed in the regions as part of the 18th edition of the OSEntreprendre Challenge which attracted 36 200 participants in 2015-16. The event was attended by OSEntreprendre spokesman Dominique Brown, president of Chocolats Favoris; Lise Thériault, Deputy Premier, Minister responsible for Small and Medium Enterprises, Regulatory Streamlining and Regional Economic Development, Minister responsible for the Status of Women and Minister responsible for the Lanaudière region; Karine Vallières, Member for Richmond and Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier (youth); Véronyque Tremblay, Member for Chauveau and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister for Rehabilitation, Youth Protection, Public Health and Healthy Lifestyles; André Drolet, Member for Jean-Lesage and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister for Small and Medium Enterprises, Regulatory Streamlining and Regional Economic Development; Raymond Bernier, Member for Montmorency and Alain Gagnon, vice-president, Agricultural and Agri-Food Sectors Division, Business Services, Desjardins Group, presenting partner of the event.

"OSEntreprendre is a powerful generator of pride and is rooted in the mobilization of educational, economic and social forces. Our commitment reflects the deep conviction of all those who participate in the Challenge and the immense pride we share in promoting entrepreneurial initiatives. Together we inspire ourselves and others with the desire to become entrepreneurs," noted Manon Théberge, President-director general of OSEntreprendre.

About the OSEntreprendre Challenge
Our mission is to inspire the spirit of enterprise and contribute to building a proud, innovative, committed and prosperous Québec. This is being accomplished thanks to the financial commitment of visionary partners such as the Desjardins Group, presenting partner, the Government of Québec, chief partner, the Ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur, the Ministère de l'Économie, de la Science et de l'Innovation, the Secrétariat à la jeunesse, the Secrétariat à la condition féminine, Les Affaires, Vidéotron Business Solultions, la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Gaz Métro, l'Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec, Saputo and Spektrum Média.


During the 18th edition, a total of 34 500 young people from educational institutions ranging from elementary to university level participated in 1 900 projects that enabled them to experience a genuine entrepreneurial process. The young people were guided by school staff who earnestly believe in the benefits of youth entrepreneurship, and they benefited from the unique experience of going through the local, regional and provincial selection processes. In carrying out their entrepreneurial projects, the winners strengthened their self-confidence, gained greater independence and discovered the pleasure of learning through entrepreneurship. They can be proud of their successes.

Provincial Prize – Category: Elementary Cycle One (Elementary 1 and 2)


Provincial Prize – Category: Elementary Cycle Two (Elementary 3 and 4)

  • LE RETROUVE-TOUT (Laurentides)

Provincial Prize – Category: Elementary Cycle Three (Elementary 5 and 6)

  • ÇA ROULE SUR LES ROULETTES! (Chaudière-Appalaches)

Provincial Prize – Secondary Cycle One (Secondary I and II)

  • GARDIENNES CŒUR D'OR (Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean)

Provincial Prize – Category: Secondary Cycle Two (Secondary III, IV and V)

  • GREAU (Côte-Nord)

Provincial Prize – Category: Secondary School ― Special Education

  • LA SALINE DES BOIS (Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean)

Provincial Prize – Category: Vocational Training and Adult Education

  • JEUNE COOP PREMIER ENVOL (Bas-Saint-Laurent)

Provincial Prize – Category: College ― Individual and Small Group (1 to 3 people)
Coopératif Jury's Favourite Prize - Fondation pour l'éducation à la coopération et à la mutualité

  • ATELIER DE RÉPARATION DE VÉLO (Capitale-Nationale)

Provincial Prize – Category: College ― Group (4 or more people)

  • FESTIVAL D'HUMOUR FESTI RIRE (Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean)

Provincial Prize – Category: University ― Individual and Small Group (1 to 3 people)

  • LE DIPLÔME AVANT LA MÉDAILLE (Capitale-Nationale)

Provincial Prize – Category: University ― Group (4 or more people)


REGIONAL COMMITMENT PRIZE - Fonds locaux de solidarité FTQ et Fédération québécoise des municipalités

PEOPLE'S CHOICE PRIZE – Gaz Métro, powered by Videotron Business Solutions
The prizewinner was identified in the course of the evening. More information is available on the Contest's Web site at


In 2015-2016, the OSEntreprendre Challenge received 1 100 projects submitted by 1 700 entrepreneurs. With the encouragement of regional players, these entrepreneurs went through the formative experience of local, regional and provincial selection by the respective juries. Courageous, persevering and determined, these prizewinners are making a difference by contributing to the development of their region. They are true sources of inspiration.

Category: Agri-food, presented by SAPUTO

  • Premier prix national : MICROBRASSERIE RIVERBEND INC. (Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean)
  • Deuxième prix national : EVIVE SMOOTHIE (Montréal)

Category: Commerce

  • Premier prix national : PASCAL LE BOUCHER (Montréal)
  • Deuxième prix national : ATELIER WELLINGTON (Montréal)

Category: Social Economy, presented by the Caisse d'économie solidaire Desjardins

  • Premier prix national : COOPÉRATIVE L'ESTRADE (Montréal)

Category: Business Operation, Processing, Production, presented by Gaz Métro

  • Premier prix national : HÉLIO (Lanaudière)
  • Deuxième prix national : MA MAISON LOGIQUE (Bas-Saint-Laurent)

Category: Technological and Technical Innovation, presented by Vidéotron Service affaires

  • Premier prix national : INOVA SOURCE INC. (Laval)
  • Deuxième prix national : SPI BIOSENSING (Estrie)

Category: Services to Companies, presented by the Ordre des CPA du Québec

  • Premier prix national : THE FOODROOM (Montréal)
  • Deuxième prix national : KROME SERVICES INC. (Montréal)

Category: Services to Individuals, presented by the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec

  • Premier prix national : ESCOUADE DE GARDE INC. (Lanaudière)
  • Deuxième prix national : LE RIGOLO CENTRE D'AMUSEMENT ET DE DÉVELOPPEMENT (Estrie)

Young Entrepreneurship Challenge Grand Prize, in partnership with the Secrétariat à la jeunesse

  • BUGBITES (Montréal)

Successfull Business Inc. Prize, in partnership with the Ministère de l'Économie, de la Science et de l'Innovation


Entrepreneuriat féminin Jury's Favourite Prize, in partnership with the Secrétariat à la condition féminine

  • AMÉLIE MORENCY, The Foodroom (Montréal)

Ingéniosité Jury's Favourite Prize – Loto-Québec


Immigration Jury's Favourite Prize – In partnership with the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Diversité et de l'Inclusion


Jennifer Poupart, – 514 718-6365


SOURCE Défi OSEntreprendre

For further information: Jennifer Poupart,, 514 718-6365

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890