The Honourable Charles Lapointe P.C. is named chairman of the Conseil des arts de Montréal

MONTREAL, Dec. 3, 2012 /CNW Telbec/ - The Conseil des arts de Montréal is pleased to announce the nomination of its new chairman, the Honourable Charles Lapointe, P.C.. Mr. Lapointe succeeds Ms. Louise Roy whose mandate is ending at the end of the year.

This nomination was approved by the Executive Committee of the Ville de Montréal during its November 28 meeting and will be ratified by the Municipal Council and Agglomeration Council.  "I am convinced that Mr. Lapointe will enthusiastically carry on the viable and dynamic work of the Conseil des arts de Montréal," said Ms. Élaine Ayotte, member of the Executive Committee, responsible for culture, heritage and design. "Mr. Lapointe has an impressive background and has been a steadfast supporter of Montreal's cultural milieu for many years. Clearly, he will be able to take the necessary actions to contribute to making Montreal a vibrant and creative cultural metropolis."

The Honourable Charles Lapointe, who has received numerous awards throughout his illustrious career, has always been a great advocate of Montreal's cultural scene. He was, in fact, the very first recipient of the Conseil des arts de Montréal's Award of Merit, in 2011, for his support of the arts sector and unwavering commitment to several cultural organizations. Mr. Lapointe declared that he is "very honoured to chair a team that is so committed to supporting our local arts scene. The Conseil des arts de Montréal is totally in sync with our city's cultural life. It is sensitive to the needs of the community that it serves and does not hesitate to reinvent itself to support its organizations and artists. As chairman, I will continue in this direction. I wish to salute the exceptional work of Louise Roy who, during her six years as Chair, made the Conseil a true ally of Montreal's cultural scene.

The Conseil des arts is composed of 21 members chosen mainly from the arts sector, but also from the educational and business communities, as well as the municipal sector. All are volunteers and reside on the Island of Montreal. They are appointed for a three-year mandate, renewable once. The secretariat of the Conseil des arts is administered by its Executive Director, Danielle Sauvage.

The members of the Conseil des arts de Montréal are: Philippe Baylaucq, Manon Blanchette, Marilyn Burgess, Madeleine Careau, Jasmine Catudal, Marie Cinq-Mars, Carole David, Jean-Pierre Desrosiers, Ben Marc Diendéré, Jocelyn Dion, André Dupras, Nassib El Husseini, Karla Étienne, Liza Frulla, Dany Laferrière, Gaétan Morency, Jan-Fryderyk Pleszczynski, François Roy, Claude Trudel, and Lise Vaillancourt, as well as Jocelyn Dion, who represents the city's Finance Department and acts as treasurer of the Conseil des arts. Jean-Robert Choquet, Director of the Culture and Heritage Department at the Ville de Montréal, is a non-voting member.

After a distinguished career in federal politics, the Hon. Charles Lapointe, P.C. joined Lavalin, where he held a number of key positions. In 1989, he was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of Tourisme Montréal. Well-known for his support of the arts and his commitment to many cultural organizations, he is a steadfast promoter of Montreal's cultural life. Over the years, Mr. Lapointe has sat on the boards of numerous cultural organizations, including Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, Festival international de nouvelle danse, Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Saidye Bronfman Centre (now known as the Segal Centre for Performing Arts) and Parachute - Revue d'art contemporain. He is currently a member of the board of trustees and a fellow of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and sits on the executive board of Mission Design. Since his arrival at Tourisme Montréal, Mr. Lapointe has greatly contributed to promoting the city's cultural tourism, which has led to a productive collaboration with the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, as well as with the Ville de Montréal.


For further information:

Tania Orméjuste,
Director of Communications
Conseil des arts de Montréal
(514) 280-3991

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890