The Finalists for the Sixteenth RBC Taylor Prize

For more media materials, please visit:

TORONTO, Feb. 24, 2017 /CNW/ - AT A NEWS CONFERENCE HELD ON Wednesday, January 11th, on behalf of the Jury, composed of John English, Ann MacMillan, and Colin McAdam, Mr. McAdam announced five finalists for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize, selected from 12 books named to the longlist on November 30, 2016. The five finalists are:

  • Max Eisen (Toronto, ON) for By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz, published by HarperCollins Canada

  • Matti Friedman (Jerusalem) for Pumpkinflowers: An Israeli Soldier's Story, published by Signal / McClelland & Stewart

  • Ross King (Oxford, England) for Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of Water Lilies, published by Bond Street Books

  • Marc Raboy (Montreal, QC) for Marconi: The Man Who Networked the World, published by Oxford University Press

  • Diane Schoemperlen (Kingston, ON) for This Is Not My Life: A Memoir of Love, Prison, and Other Complications, published by HarperCollins Canada


Meet all five finalists at two public events prior to the announcement of the winner: A free roundtable discussion on Thursday, March 2nd at 7:00 pm in the Atrium of the Toronto Reference Library (more information at this link) and don't miss the annual Ben McNally/The Globe and Mail Authors Brunch on Sunday, March 5th at 10:00 am (tickets: All finalists will be supported with extensive national publicity and promotional support to help each of their books stand out in the national media and book retailers and libraries across the country. 

This marks the sixteenth awarding of The RBC Taylor Prize, which consists of $25,000 and a crystal trophy for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the remaining finalists. The winner of this year's prize will be announced at a gala luncheon and awards ceremony at the historic Omni King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto on Monday, March 6th. 

Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian talent, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will also grant the fourth annual RBC TAYLOR PRIZE EMERGING WRITERS AWARD. Shortly after the March 6th announcement of the 2017 Prize winner, he or she will name their choice of emerging author to receive the $10,000 award. 

About The RBC Taylor Prize

Established biennially in 1998 by the trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation, 2017 marks the sixteenth awarding of The RBC Taylor Prize, which commemorates Charles Taylor's pursuit of excellence in the field of literary non-fiction. Awarded to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception, the Prize consists of $25,000 for the winner and $2,000 for each of the remaining finalists, as well as promotional support to help all of the nominated books to stand out in the media, bookstores, and libraries. All authors are presented with a custom leather bound version of their shortlisted book at the awards ceremony.

Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian talent, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will also grant the fourth annual RBC Taylor Prize Emerging Writers Award. Shortly after the announcement of the 2017 Prize, its winner will name their choice of emerging author to receive this $10,000 award.

The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are: Michael Bradley, Vijay Parmar, David Staines, Edward Taylor, Nadina Taylor, and Noreen Taylor.

The presenting sponsor of The RBC Taylor Prize is RBC Wealth Management. Its media sponsors are The Globe and Mail, CNW Group, The Huffington Post CanadaMaclean's magazine, CBC Books and Quill & Quire magazine; its in-kind sponsors are Ben McNally Books, Event Source, IFOA, The Omni King Edward Hotel, and the Toronto Public Library Board.

To download high-resolution images of the finalists and their book covers please go to: 

To download high-resolution images of the trustees, jurors, and longlisted authors, please go to:

For general information about the Prize please go to: Follow The RBC Taylor Prize on Twitter at Like The RBC Taylor Prize on Facebook at

SOURCE RBC Taylor Prize

For further information: Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates, Stephen Weir: 416.489.5868 | cell: 416.801.3101 |

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890