The Energy Council of Canada is very pleased to announce the recipient of the 2015 Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award, Mr. Michael Cleland

OTTAWA, June 15, 2015 /CNW/ - Mr. Cleland has demonstrated his leadership in the public and private sectors in advancing energy issues during a distinguished 40-year career.  He has held senior executive positions in government and with two of Canada's leading industry associations in the energy sector as well as playing a prominent role as a board member of a number of energy organizations.  Most recently, he has provided insights on energy in Canada based on his leading-edge public policy research.

Speaking on behalf of the Energy Council of Canada, Colin Andersen, Chair, congratulates Mr. Cleland and adds: "We're pleased to once again recognize a truly deserving individual.  Mike Cleland joins 15 other outstanding Canadians the ECC has honoured".

Brent Gilmour, the Executive Director of QUEST – Quality Urban Energy Systems of Tomorrow, and nominator commented that "Mike's commitment, passion, and thought leadership has greatly contributed to shaping the energy policy landscape for the benefit of all Canadians, most notably in improving the sustainability of Canada's energy system".

The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award was established by the Energy Council of Canada in 2001 to recognize and pay tribute to a Canadian energy leader who has made a significant impact at the national and international levels with the energy sector.

Nominations are based upon the nominee's remarkable accomplishments in the business or public sectors and the community at large. A foremost characteristic of the nominee is their strong sense of social responsibility and their commitment to give back to the community.  Their forward thinking and innovative spirit enable these leaders to promote, inform and contribute to the Canadian energy sector.  These distinguished individuals play an ongoing role supporting the aims and activities of the Energy Council of Canada.

The 2015 Award Ceremony will be held on November 25 in Calgary, Alberta.  Details on the venue will be provided shortly.  A charitable donation will be made by the Energy Council of Canada to an organization selected by this year's recipient.

The Energy Council is Canada's national energy association made up of 65+ member organizations representing all forms of energy, the federal and provincial governments, all energy industry associations, and companies providing legal and business services to the energy industry. The ECC is the Canadian Member Committee of the 95-country World Energy Council. Events and activities can be found at


SOURCE Energy Council of Canada

Image with caption: "Energy Council of Canada (CNW Group/Energy Council of Canada)". Image available at:

For further information: For further information about the award and the ceremony, please contact Brigitte Svarich,, 613-323-1254.


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890