The Charles Taylor Writers Circle on television tonight

Seamus O'Regan has an intimate conversation with the four Short Listed authors

TORONTO, Jan. 31 /CNW/ - TV personality Seamus O'Regan hosts a personal and revealing televised conversation with all four authors shortlisted for the 2010 Prize on Sunday, January 31st at 7:00 p.m. Bravo! Television will be airing The Charles Taylor Writer's Circle, a half-hour show featuring all four authors shortlisted for The 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction. The four authors talk unscripted with CTV's Seamus O'Regan in this special edition of the weekly Arts&Minds program.

Taped in Toronto's famed Masonic Temple before a live studio audience, this special edition of Arts&Minds features an intimate conversation with the four CTP finalists that gives the audience a first-hand account of the inspiration behind the authors' books, and an opportunity to speak directly to the authors and ask questions, town-hall style.

The 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction finalists are:

    1.  Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search For His Disabled
        Son, published by Random House Canada.
    2.  John English for Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau,
        1968 - 2000, published by Knopf Canada.
    3.  Daniel Poliquin for René Lévesque, published by Penguin Canada.
    4.  Kenneth Whyte for The Uncrowned King: The Sensational Rise of William
        Randolph Hearst, published by Random House Canada.

The January 31st Bravo! broadcast will also soon be available for viewing on the network's website at Arts&Minds is also producing an extensive upcoming program tracking the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize events, from the announcement of the shortlist on January 5, through to the announcement of the winner at the gala luncheon and awards ceremony on February 8.

The prestigious Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction recognizes excellence in Canadian non-fiction writing. Since its inception the prize has fostered a growing interest in non-fiction, engaged Canadians in the genre of literary non-fiction, and boosted sales of the winning authors' books. Founded in commemoration of the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists and a prominent member of the Canadian literary community, the prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.

The winner of the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction will be announced at a gala awards ceremony and luncheon, to be held at Le Meridien King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto on Monday, February 8, 2010. The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each runner-up with promotional support for each shortlisted title.

The Prize is presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation with generous support from Bravo!, Ben McNally Books, CTV, CNW Group, Event Source, Windfield Farms Limited, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, The Globe and Mail, and Quill & Quire. For more information:

/NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available at Images are free to accredited members of the media/

SOURCE Charles Taylor Prize

For further information: For further information: Media are requested to confirm their attendance with Stephen Weir & Associates: Stephen Weir: (416) 489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101,; Linda Crane: (905) 257-6033, cell: (416) 727-0112,

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890