The Canadian Journalism Foundation announces finalists for Excellence in Journalism Award

TORONTO, April 25, 2013 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation is proud to announce the shortlist for its annual Excellence in Journalism Award in the large-media and small-media categories.

Unlike other awards honouring specific journalistic achievements, the CJF celebrates news organizations that embrace ideals of journalistic excellence - accuracy, independence, accountability to the audience, courage and originality - with its annual Excellence in Journalism Award.

The five finalists in the large-media category are:

CBC News: Special Investigations Unit
The Current - CBC Radio One
Postmedia News
Toronto Star
Winnipeg Free Press

The five finalists in the small-media category are:

CBC New Brunswick
Turtle Island News
The Tyee
Vancouver Observer

"At a time of unprecedented change and uncertainty in the media, we were impressed with the range of creative ideas that news organizations across the country are exploring to address the economic and coverage challenges they face, while at the same time maintaining their focus on excellence in journalism," says Christopher Waddell, chair of the jury.

The winners will be announced at the 16th Annual CJF Awards to be held at The Fairmont Royal York on June 13 in Toronto.

The Excellence in Journalism Award, now in its 17th year, was established by Dr. F.L.R. (Eric) Jackman, chairman of the Jackman Foundation and founder of The Canadian Journalism Foundation.

The members of the jury include:
Christopher Waddell, Director, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Murray Campbell, Director, Corporate Communications, Ontario Power Authority
Catherine Cano, Managing Partner, National Public Relations
Hon. Jim Munson, Senator, Ottawa-Rideau Canal, The Senate of Canada
Kelly Toughill, Director and Associate Professor, School of Journalism, University of King's College.

For more information, visit our Excellence in Journalism Award page or contact Natalie Turvey at or at 416-955-0394. Follow #cjfawards on Twitter.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Founded in 1990, the Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, (English) and (French), in cooperation with the country's leading journalism schools; and by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, government officials, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE: Canadian Journalism Foundation

For further information:

Natalie Turvey
Executive Director
The Canadian Journalism Foundation
59 Adelaide St. E, 5th floor 
Toronto, ON  M5C 1K6
Phone: 416-955-0394 * Fax: 416-532-6879 * email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890