Sundre Doctor Takes Top Doc Honours as Alberta's Family Physician of the Year

The Alberta College of Family Physicians Honours Excellence in Family Medicine

EDMONTON, Oct. 15, 2013 /CNW/ - The Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP) is pleased to announce that Dr. Hal Irvine of Sundre is Alberta's Family Physician of the Year for 2013. Recipients of this prestigious award are chosen by their peers for making significant contributions to the health and well-being of their communities, dedicating themselves to the education of future generations of family doctors, and most importantly, for providing exceptional care to their patients.

"Dr. Irvine not only provides leadership (as the Family Medical Director of Sundre Hospital), but is also a mentor for all practicing physicians in our community," says colleague Dr. Mark Wylie. "I have worked in many communities in the province and I do not know of a more dedicated, knowledgeable, skillful, and deserving candidate for the award of Family Physician of the Year!"

Originally from Red Deer, Dr. Irvine completed his medical studies at the University of Calgary and his residency in family medicine at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Dr. Irvine moved back west in 1982 after a short stint in Parry Sound and settled in Sundre, Alberta where he continues to practise family medicine on a part-time basis.  Dr. Irvine is an avid photographer, amateur actor/producer, and loves to sport-tour his Yamaha FJR 1300 cross-country with close friends.  Dr. Irvine has been married to wife Dianne for more than 39 years and has three children and a spunky grandson.

Along with Alberta's Family Physician of the Year announcement, the ACFP is pleased to honour the following recipients for this year's Awards programs:

Recognition of Excellence
Dr. James Adams, Sherwood Park
Dr. Fraser Armstrong, Edmonton
Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Aufricht, Calgary
Dr. Deirdre Duffy, Red Deer
Dr. Ted Jablonski, Calgary
Dr. Julian Kyne, Airdrie
Dr. Jean Triscott, Edmonton

ACFP New Professional Award
Dr. Jazmin Marlinga

Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award 
Dr. Jamie McIntyre, University of Alberta
Dr. Lindsay Jantzie, University of Calgary

ACFP Student Leadership - Rising Star Award 
Lindsey Sutherland, University of Alberta
Paige Hacking, University of Calgary

"The positive impact our recipients have on their patients, families, and peers is a testament of their dedication to family medicine," said Dr. Cathy Scrimshaw, ACFP President.  "We are so proud of these individuals and their leadership in communities across Alberta."

The ACFP's Awards program reviews nominations on an annual basis and recognizes dedicated students, family medicine residents, and family physicians.  The Call for Nominations for 2014 opens at the beginning of Family Doctor Week, November 4, 2013. Visit for more details.

About the Alberta College of Family Physicians
The Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP) is a professional, voluntary organization representing more than 3,700 family physicians in Alberta. Established more than 50 years ago, the ACFP strives for excellence in family practice through advocacy, continuing medical education and primary care research. The ACFP is a Chapter of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC), a nationwide organization with more than 30,000 members.  For more information on the ACFP, visit

SOURCE: Alberta College of Family Physicians

For further information:

Wendy Steele
Communications & Conference Coordinator
Alberta College of Family Physicians
780-488-2395 or 1-800-361-0607 or

Organization Profile

Alberta College of Family Physicians

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890