Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Members Nominated to the 2014 Canadian Paralympic Wheelchair Curling Team

OTTAWA, Dec. 6, 2013 /CNW/ - I am pleased to congratulate the athletes who have been nominated to represent Canada in wheelchair curling at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Canada's Paralympic Wheelchair Curling Team will comprise Skip Jim Armstrong (British Columbia), Lead Sonja Gaudet (British Columbia), Second Ina Forrest (British Columbia), Third Dennis Thiessen (Manitoba) and Alternate Mark Ideson (Ontario). The team is coached by Joe Rea (British Columbia).

As the largest single contributor to sport in this country, our Government is proud to support sport participation and excellence from playground to podium. We recognize the hard work and dedication of our athletes as they train toward this important milestone in their sport career.

As Minister of State (Sport) and on behalf of all Canadians, I wish all the best to our Canadian Paralympic Team athletes as they prepare for the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi. I would also like to thank the coaches, officials and family members who support and encourage these athletes who will proudly represent our country.

SOURCE: Canadian Heritage

For further information:

For more information (media only), please contact:

Robert Lynch
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890