Six medical pioneers inducted into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

LONDON, ON, April 13 /CNW/ - On April 13, six medical pioneers will be inducted into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame marking the 12th induction ceremony in Canadian medical history and the first time the event has been held in Calgary. The inductees will join the ranks of the 76 Hall of Fame laureates who have previously been awarded this honourable distinction.

    The six inductees are:

    Dr. Alan C. Burton, MBE                 Dr. James C. Hogg, OC
    Dr. William A. Cochrane, OC AOE         Dr. Vera Peters, OC
    Dr. Phil Gold, CC OQ                    Dr. Calvin R. Stiller, CM OOnt

"I am deeply humbled to be chosen to enter the Hall of Fame this year but if only one child, somewhere in Canada, is motivated by my story to pursue a career in medicine, the honour will have been complete. As a Londoner, I often drive by the Hall - in fact every time I visit my grandchildren - and although I do not feel adequate to sit along with whom I consider to be the true greats of Canadian medicine, I cannot deny that my heart is filled with gratitude to have worked in a profession where patients' lives are saved and medical research is accomplished every day," said incoming laureate and founder of the Hall of Fame, Dr. Calvin Stiller.

Over 600 business and health leaders from across Canada, as well as local dignitaries including the Honourable Peter Lougheed, the Honourable Anne McLellan, Premier Ed Stelmach, Mayor Dave Bronconnier, and Canadian Medical Association President Dr. Anne Doig, will gather at the BMO Centre for this momentous occasion. A record-breaking number of medical students and residents will also be in attendance.

"We are delighted to serve as the host faculty of this prestigious national celebration. The inductees, and all the Hall of Fame laureates, are outstanding medical leaders who provide a strong foundation for Canada's excellent health care system. In Alberta, we are particularly proud of Dr. Bill Cochrane who founded the medical school in Calgary and laid the groundwork for our ongoing commitment to produce more doctors for Canada and to do outstanding research," says Dr. Tom Feasby, chair of the 2010 Induction Committee and dean of the University of Calgary's Faculty of Medicine.

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame's 12th induction ceremony is proudly presented by BMO Financial Group. Other major sponsors include CN, Research Western and Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Norlien Foundation, and the Canadian Medical Association.

Established in 1994 and located in London, Ontario, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is dedicated to creating an enduring tribute to Canada's medical pioneers who, through discovery and innovation, have contributed to better health in Canada and the world. Through our laureate and educational programs, we inspire students to pursue careers in the health sciences and to dream of becoming our future medical heroes.

Biographies of the inductees are available at

SOURCE The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

For further information: For further information: Janet Tufts, Executive Director, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, (519) 488-2003, (519) 661-7785,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890