Shevchenko Foundation rewards Matthew Fisher for reporting on Ukraine

EDMONTON, June 2, 2015 /CNW/ - Matthew Fisher of PostMedia News is the sixth recipient of the John Syrnick Award for Journalism, sponsored by the Ukrainian-Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko. Matthew was chosen from among 29 Canadian journalists who provided illuminating coverage of Ukraine's crisis in Canadian media. Andrew Hladyshevsky Q.C., President of the Shevchenko Foundation will present the award. 

National committee chair Dr. Christine Turkewych states, "The committee selected Matthew Fisher for providing Canadians with extensive reporting through PostMedia News and demonstrating an authentic understanding of the crisis in Ukraine from November 2013 to mid September 2014."

The National 2015 Syrnick Selection Committee included eminent Canadian academics and leaders from the Ukrainian-Canadian community: George MelnykAssociate Professor, Film Studies and Canadian Studies, University of Calgary;  Boris Kishchuk, Chair, Canada-Ukraine Centre Inc. Saskatchewan; Professor Bohdan KordanDirector of the Prairie Centre for Study of Ukrainian Heritage at St. Thomas Moore College, University of Saskatchewan;  Roman Senkus, Director, Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies Publications Program & Managing Editor of Encyclopedia of Ukraine & Journal of Ukrainian Studies;  Chrystyna Isajiw,  Ukrainian Canadian Research & Documentation Centre; Bob Leshchyshen, MBA,CFA ,  Buduchnist Credit Union Board of Directors and Canada Ukraine List serve;  Prof. Dominique Arel, University of Ottawa, Chair of Ukrainian Studies; Irene Bell, producer & host of Ukrainian Hour, Radio CHIN; Konstantin Huytan, Sr. Policy Analyst, Government of Canada; and Gordon Gordey, Board of Directors Shevchenko Foundation.

The John Syrnick Award for Journalism is named after John Syrnick, the influential editor (1947-70) of Ukrainian Voice, Canada's oldest Ukrainian newspaper.  Past recipients: Mark McKinnon, Globe and Mail in 2005; Victor Malarek, W-5, in 2007; the Winnipeg Free Press in 2009; Frédérick LavoieLa Presse Montréal, in 2011;  and in 2013, The Globe & Mail recognized for articles by Brian Bonner, John Doyle, Hon. Derek Fraser and John Stackhouse, Editor in Chief. 


John Syrnick Award for Journalism, sponsored by the Ukrainian-Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko.


Winner – Matthew Fisher

PostMedia News 


Friday June 5, 2015

 3:30 - 5:00 pm


Faculty Club, University of Alberta

Saskatchewan Room

11435 Saskatchewan Room

(Guests will include media, dignitaries & leaders of the Canadian

Ukrainian community)


SOURCE Shevchenko Foundation

Image with caption: "The Ukrainian-Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko rewards journalists. (CNW Group/Shevchenko Foundation)". Image available at:

For further information: 647 929-0550 or 1 866 524 5314, or


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890