Send AJAs your best

HALIFAX, Oct. 27 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards is inviting journalists from across the region to enter their best stories and images in the 2009 AJAs competition. The postmarked deadline for entries will be Friday, January 28, 2010.

Several new categories have been added for the 2009 news year, including Online News Reporting, Business Reporting, Best Page Presentation (newspaper), and Community Reporting.

Nominations will also be accepted for the AJAs first Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to an individual or news organization which has made a significant contribution to journalism in Atlantic Canada.

Entries must be by journalists in Atlantic Canada, and the items must have been published or broadcast in the region's newspapers, magazines, radio, or television stations during 2009. Three finalists will be selected in each category by panels of judges from coast to coast, and they will be announced in early April 2010.

All of the finalists will be honoured at a gala dinner and awards ceremony on Saturday, May 8, 2010, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel. Daytime professional development workshops will also be held on May 8.

Details of category definitions and entry procedures can be found at, or by telephone at 902-425-2727.

SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: For further information: Bill Skerrett, (902) 435-9166

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890