SAS reports on Election of Directors and Appointment of Chairman of the Board of Directors

TORONTO, May 10, 2013 /CNW/ - St Andrew Goldfields Ltd. (T-SAS) (OTCQX-STADF), ("SAS" or the "Company") today announced that each of the nominees for director of the Company as listed in the Company's 2013 Management Information Circular (available under the Company's profile on SEDAR at and on the Company's website at were elected at its Annual and Special Meeting of Shareholders held on May 9, 2013.  The results of the vote are as follows:

Herbert Abramson 99.32
Graham Farquharson 99.86
Catherine Gignac 99.85
John Hick 99.22
Jacques Perron 99.85
David Petroff 99.84
Warren Seyffert 99.06

Detailed voting results for all matters considered at the meeting are available on SEDAR at

Appointment of Graham Farquharson as Chairman of the Board of Directors
Mr. Graham Farquharson, a member of the Board since June 2009, was appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors (the "Board") of SAS replacing Dr. Louis Gignac, who did not stand for re-election.

Mr. Farquharson is a graduate in mining engineering from the University of Alberta, with an MBA from Queen's University, as well as an honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of New Brunswick.  He has worked extensively in operations across Canada as well as internationally while responsible for the overall direction and management of Strathcona Mineral Services since its inception in 1974.  Mr. Farquharson coordinated the technical audit of the Busang project of Bre-X Minerals in Indonesia and subsequent investigation work after Strathcona reported the possible fraud implications.  Strathcona also pioneered mining development in the Canadian Arctic with the construction and operation of the Nanisivik zinc mine on northern Baffin Island.  Mr. Farquharson has served as a director of a number of mining companies and not-for-profit organizations, and is currently a director of Franco-Nevada Corporation, Physicians Services Incorporated Foundation, and is Chairman of the Canadian Mineral Industry Education Foundation.  Mr. Farquharson is a highly regarded individual in the mining community, and was inducted into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame in 2010.

Dr. Gignac steps down as director and Chairman of the Board.   The Board wishes to thank Dr. Gignac for his dedication and service over the years, having served as a director since 2007 and Chairman of the Board since 2009. Jacques Perron, President and CEO said, "Dr. Gignac's commitment over the past 6 years to the success of the Company is greatly appreciated."

About SAS
SAS (operating as "SAS Goldmines"), is a gold mining and exploration company with an extensive land package in the Timmins mining district, north-eastern Ontario, which lies within the Abitibi greenstone belt, the most important host of historical gold production in Canada.

SAS owns and operates the Holt, Holloway and Hislop mines which contribute approximately 100,000 ounces of annual gold production. The Company is also advancing the Taylor Project and is conducting an aggressive exploration program across 120km of land straddling the Porcupine-Destor Fault Zone.

SOURCE: St Andrew Goldfields Ltd.

For further information:

about St Andrew Goldfields Ltd., please contact:
Tel: 1-800-463-5139 or (416) 815-9855; Fax: (416) 815-9437; Website: 

Suzette N Ramcharan
Director, Investor Relations

Jacques Perron
President & CEO 

Ben Au
CFO, VP Finance & Administration 

Organization Profile

St Andrew Goldfields Ltd.

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890