Rush, Robert Charlebois among 2010 Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame
inductees to be honoured at 6th Annual Gala on March 28, 2010

CSHF finds permanent, physical home at the Toronto Centre for the Arts

TORONTO, Jan. 19 /CNW/ - The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame/Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (CSHF/PACC) today revealed their 2010 inductees, which include 11 influential songwriters, 16 timeless songs and two Legacy Award recipients. It was also announced today that the CSHF/PACC and the Toronto Centre for the Arts have established a strategic partnership that will help expand the CSHF/PACC's mandate by presenting regular and diverse music programming, on-going educational initiatives and will create a permanent 'bricks & mortar' home for the Hall of Fame located at the TCA.

The 2010 inductees will be honoured at the CSHF's 6th annual Gala, presented by BMO Nesbitt Burns on Sunday, March 28, 2010, at the George Weston Recital Hall, Toronto Centre for the Arts. The full line-up of performers for the 6th Annual Gala will be announced in the coming weeks.

"We are honoured to welcome this year's inductees into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame. Each of these artists have helped define Canada's musical legacy and we look forward to recognizing and celebrating their efforts at this year's Gala," says Sylvia Tyson, President, CSHF.

"The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame is thrilled to announce that these songwriters, along with all of our previous inductees, will become part of our new permanent, 'bricks & mortar' home at the Toronto Centre for the Arts," says Dominic Denny, Executive Director CSHF/PACC. "Our partnership with the TCA will also include regular music programming such as the 'If You Could Read My Mind' series, together with educational initiatives throughout the year."

The 2010 CSHF songwriter inductees are: Rush (Limelight, Closer to the Heart, The Spirit of Radio, Tom Sawyer, Subdivisions) and Robert Charlebois (Fu man chu, Ordinaire, Les ailes d'un ange, Demain l'hiver, Lindberg).

The six classic Canadian songs being inducted this year are: Come Josephine in My Flying Machine (Alfred Bryan, Fred Fisher); Des mitaines pas de pouces (Ovila Légaré); (There's a) Bluebird on Your Windowsill (Elizabeth Clarke); Deux enfants du même âge (Germaine Dugas); The Hockey Theme (Dolores Claman); and J'entends frapper (Michel Pagliaro).

The CSHF will bestow the Frank Davies Legacy Award, named after the founder of the CSHF/PACC, to recorded-sound archivist Edward B. Moogk. The CMPA (Canadian Music Publishers Association) Legacy award will be given to Quebec impresario, producer and agent Guy Latraverse.

Tickets for the March 28th CSHF Gala, starting at $110.00, are now on sale and are available through Ticketmaster at 416-870-8000 or on-line at,, or in person at the TCA box office.

For further information, bios and photos, please visit


    THE PIONEERS: Pre-1921
    RADIO ERA: 1921 to 1955 Anglophone, Francophone 1921 to 1960
    MODERN ERA: Anglophone 1956 to 1981, Francophone 1961 to 1981

    The Pioneers/Les pionniers

    1.  Come Josephine in My Flying Machine (Alfred Bryan, Fred Fisher)
    2.  Des mitaines pas de pouces (Ovila Légaré)

    Radio Era/Époque radiophonique

    1.  (There's a) Bluebird on Your Windowsill (Elizabeth Clarke)
    2.  Deux enfants du même âge (Germaine Dugas)

    Modern Era/Époque moderne

    1.  Rush (Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart)
    2.  Robert Charlebois


    1.  The Hockey Theme (Dolores Claman)
    2.  J'entends frapper (Michel Pagliaro)
    3.  Tom Sawyer (Rush, Pye Dubois)
    4.  Limelight (Rush)
    5.  The Spirit of Radio (Rush)
    6.  Subdivisions (Rush)
    7.  Closer to the Heart (Rush, Peter Talbot)
    8.  Fu Man Chu (Robert Charlebois, Claude Gagnon, Marcel Sabourin)
    9.  Les ailes d'un ange (Robert Charlebois)
    10. Ordinaire (Robert Charlebois, Claudette Monfette)
    11. Demain l'hiver (Robert Charlebois)
    12. Lindberg (Robert Charlebois, Claude Péloquin, Louise Forestier,
        Pierre F. Brault)

    Frank Davies Legacy Award/Le Prix du Patrimoine Frank Davies

    Edward B. Moogk

    The CMPA (Canadian Music Publishers Association) Legacy Award

    Guy Latraverse

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF)/Le panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) is a bilingual, a-political, non-profit organization, which is a partnership of the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA) and the Songwriters Association of Canada (SAC) with the assistance of the Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ). The CSHF's generous core-funding partners are: the CMPA, the SAC, the Toronto Centre for the Arts, the Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR), SOCAN, Astral Media, and the Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency Ltd. The CSHF acknowledges the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada's private radio broadcasters.

SOURCE Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

For further information: For further information: Media contact and to arrange gala accreditation: Christine Liber, Liberty Ink, (416) 651-4722 x 1,

Organization Profile

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890