MONTRÉAL, May 28, 2014 /CNW Telbec/ - Starting June 1, 2014, the Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum will be presenting its all-new discovery tour Yum Yum! 2,000 Years of Sustenance at Bon-Secours. This guided tour, offered in the afternoon in French and English, will take visitors through the archaeological site beneath the Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel in Old Montréal.
We don't usually give much thought to where some of our eating habits came from when we sit down for a meal. But just think! When did people start enjoying popcorn? How did they preserve their food in New France? Why do we eat eggs, bacon and sausage for breakfast?
During this guided tour of the archaeological site, visitors will learn all about the dietary habits of the three cultural groups, Native, French and English, that each occupied the Bon-Secours site in turn. Visitors will travel back in time as they explore more than 2,000 years of history and the culinary arts!
The excavations beneath today's Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel were among the most significant archaeological digs in Old Montréal. The site was so well preserved that the archaeologists were able to make some fabulous discoveries. These include traces of Native campsites, the remains of the first stone chapel in Montréal (1675), the outline of the palisade (1708) that once protected the town, and a multitude of artifacts with much to tell us about the different cultural groups that occupied the site over the space of more than 2,000 years.
June 1 to August 31, 2014: Tuesday to Sunday afternoons
September 6 to November 30, 2014: Saturday and Sunday afternoons
Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum
400 rue Saint-Paul Est, Old Montréal (Champ-de-Mars metro)
Telephone: (514) 282-8670, ext. 221
SOURCE: Marguerite-Bourgeoys Museum
For further information: Valérie Lafleur, Communications Co-ordinator, Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum, Telephone: (514) 282-8670, ext. 223, E-mail: [email protected]