/R E P E A T -- RBC Taylor Prize announces 2016 Jurors/

Award-winning author, distinguished scholar, and well-known broadcast executive join to select year's best literary non-fiction

TORONTO, Sept. 23, 2015 /CNW/ - The Trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are pleased to announce that the jurors for the 2016 RBC Taylor Prize are: Susanne Boyce, Steven Galloway, and Stephen J. Toope. Diverse and accomplished, this year's decision-making team will approach their reading list with a varied perspective to determine the best works of literary non-fiction for the fifteenth awarding of the prestigious annual Prize. Publishers are reminded to submit their titles for consideration and to take note that no books will be accepted after the final submission deadline of November 2, 2015, per the details outlined at this link: www.rbctaylorprize.ca/submissions.asp. The Prize longlist is set to be revealed on Wednesday, December 9, 2015. The shortlist will be shared at a press conference on Wednesday, January 13, 2016. The shortlisted authors will be celebrated and the winner announced at a gala luncheon on Monday, March 7, 2016.

Noreen Taylor, Chairman of the Charles Taylor Foundation and Founder of the Prize commented: "I am thrilled at the calibre of this year's jury. Canadians from coast to coast, their varied and many accomplishments inform their understanding and wisdom. Everything begins with the jury and I can't thank them enough for their exceedingly hard work. I look forward with great anticipation to their selections for the 2016 Prize."

About The Jury:

Susanne Boyce is one of North America's most respected TV broadcast program chiefs. She has been a producer, a programmer and an executive at both public and private networks. Most recently she was President, CTV Creative, Content and Specialties. A champion of Canadian production and nation-building shows with a world-wide reach, she was responsible for one of the most watched original programming slates in Canadian television. Prior to this, she held production and management positions at both CBC (The Journal, Midday, Newsworld) and BCTV (Webster!/Newshour). She lives in Toronto.

Steven Galloway is Acting Chair of the Creative Writing Program in the Faculty of Arts at the University of British Columbia. The winner of numerous awards for his writing, his most recent book is The Confabulist. His previous novels are Finnie Walsh, Ascension, and the international bestseller The Cellist of Sarajevo, which The Guardian called 'the work of an expert'. He has won the Borders Original Voice Award, the OLA Evergreen Award, and the George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature and has been nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Richard & Judy Book of the Year Award, the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, the Canadian Booksellers Association Fiction Award, and the Amazon.ca/Books in Canada First Novel Award. His work has been published in over thirty countries and optioned for film. He lives in New Westminster.

Stephen J. Toope is a distinguished scholar, prize-winning author, and Director of the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto. His book Legitimacy and Legality in International Law: An Interactional Account (with Jutta Brunnée) won the American Society of International Law's 2011 Certificate of Merit for Creative Scholarship, the highest award for a book on international law. He most recently co-edited After the Paris Attacks: Responses in Canada, Europe, and Around the Globe (with Prof. Edward M. Iacobucci). In his current research, he is working on issues of continuity and change in international law and the origins of international obligation in international society. Prior to joining the University of Toronto, he was President of the University of British Columbia (2006 – 2014), President of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation, (2002 – 2006), and Dean of McGill University's Faculty of Law (1994 – 1999), among numerous other appointments. He lives in Toronto.

The RBC Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines an excellent command of the English language, an elegance of style, quality of thought, and subtlety of perception. The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the runners up. All of the shortlisted titles receive extensive national publicity and marketing support.

Earlier this year, Plum Johnson won the 2015 RBC Taylor Prize for They Left Us Everything: A Memoir, published by Penguin Canada. Ms Johnson selected Iain Reid as this year's recipient of the RBC Taylor Prize Emerging Writer Award, which was established in 2013 to provide recognition and assistance to a Canadian published author who is working on a significant writing project in literary non-fiction.

The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are: Michael Bradley, Vijay Parmar, David Staines, Edward Taylor, Nadina Taylor, and Noreen Taylor.

The presenting sponsor of the RBC Taylor Prize is RBC Wealth Management; its media sponsors are The Globe and Mail (exclusive newspaper sponsor), CNW Group, The Huffington Post Canada, Maclean's, and Quill & Quire; its in-kind sponsors are Ben McNally Books, Event Source, IFOA, The Omni King Edward Hotel, and Toronto Public Library.

To download high-resolution images of the trustees and the jury please go to: www.rbctaylorprize.ca/2016/2016_trustees+jury.zip

SOURCE Charles Taylor Prize

For further information: Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates, Stephen Weir: 416-489-5868 | cell: 416-801-3101 | sweir5492@rogers.com, Visit our website at www.rbctaylorprize.ca, Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/taylorprize, Follow us on Facebook At www.facebook.com/RBCTaylorPrize

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890