/R E P E A T -- Media invitation - Montréal Pride Parade - August 16, 2015 - Attendance of political representatives at annual Pride Parade/

Montréal Pride Parade draws show of support from many public figures

MONTRÉAL, Aug. 14, 2015 /CNW Telbec/ - Montréal Pride will welcome many public figures to a press briefing that will be held on Sunday, August 16, at the garden of the Canadian Centre for Architecture on René-Lévesque Boulevard West. A significant number of prominent public figures have accepted the invitation to join with the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) communities in a show of support for equal rights for all.



Sunday, August 16, 2015


Garden of the Canadian Centre for Architecture
(René-Lévesque between du Fort and Saint-Marc)

11:45 am  

Arrival of guests

Parade set-up area: Please note that René-Lévesque Boulevard is closed from 8:45 am between Guy and Lambert-Closse. Access to vehicles is very limited and the eastbound lane can only be accessed from Atwater to drop off guests. Vehicles may not park near the site and must exit via Guy Street.

12:15 pm

Press briefing

1:00 pm 

Parade departure (moment of silence at 2:45 pm)


The Montréal Pride Parade will begin on Sunday, August 16, at 1 pm on René-Lévesque, corner Guy, and will proceed east, ending at Sanguinet.  

As of August 14, politicians from all levels of government have confirmed their presence to walk with Montréal Pride and the LGBT community. 

From the provincial level, Marguerite Blais, Francine Charbonneau, Hélène David, Pierre Moreau and Stéphanie Vallée and Kathleen Weil will represent the Québec Liberal Party. Richard Guay and Agnès Maltais will represent the Parti Québécois. Benoît Charette and Mario Laframboise will represent the Coallition avenir Québec. Viviane Martinova-Croteau and Sol Zanetti will represent Option Nationale. Françoise David and Manon Massé will represent Québec solidaire.

From the federal level, Justin Trudeau will represent Liberal Party of Canada accompanied by Irwin Cotler, Stéphane Dion, Emmanuel Dubourg and Marc Garneau. Paulina Ayala, Thomas J. Mulcair will represent the New Democratic Party accompanied by Tyrone Benskin, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet, Alexandre Boulerice, Ruth Ellen-Brosseau, Mylène Freeman, Alain Giguère, Sadia Groguhé, Hoang Mai, Ève Péclet and François Pilon. Gilles Duceppe will represent Bloc Québécois. Elizabeth May will represent the Green Party of Canada and Jean-François Larose will represent Force et Démocratie.  

Finally, from the municipal level, Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montréal, will be joined by Richard Celzi, Pierre Desrochers, Jean-François Parenteau, Chantal Rouleau, Lili-Anne Tremblay, will represent Équipe Denis Coderre pour Montréal. Luc Ferrandez, Alex Norris, Valérie Plante, Richard Ryan and Craig Sauvé, will represent Projet Montréal. Réal Ménard will represent Coalition Montréal and Steve Shanahan will represent Vrai changement pour Montréal. Anthony Housefather and Maja Vodanovic will also be among the representatives taking part in the Parade.  

The complete list of public figures who have confirmed their attendance as of August 14 can be consulted here:


We would like to express our warm thanks to the Canadian Centre for Architecture for welcoming us to their magnificent garden, where the sculptures of Melvin Charney are displayed. Charney's work is also featured at Place Émilie-Gamelin, Montréal Pride's main site for free shows and events.


SOURCE Montréal Pride Celebrations

For further information: Steven Ross, Communications Director, Montréal Pride, steven@fiertemontrealpride.com, Mobile : 514 234-4251

Organization Profile

Montréal Pride Celebrations

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890