/R E P E A T -- Media Advisory - Atlantic Mayors' Congress to meet in
Halifax, April 15-16/

Mayors to discuss new federal wastewater rules

HALIFAX, April 13 /CNW Telbec/ - Mayors from Atlantic Canada's largest municipalities will meet in Halifax, NS, April 15-16, in the Council Chambers at City Hall.

The mayors, members of the Atlantic Mayors' Congress, will discuss pressing issues facing their communities, notably the cost to local property taxpayers of new federal wastewater regulations.

The meetings are closed to news media. A news conference is scheduled for April 15 at 3:30 p.m. Individual mayors are available upon request to meet reporters following the news conference.

    WHAT:     Atlantic Mayors' Congress meeting and news conference

    WHEN:     Meeting: April 15-16, 2010
              Media availability Mayor Kelly: April 15, 8:45 - 9:00
              (Pre-meeting photo-op with mayors)
              Mayors' news conference: April 15, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

    WHERE:    Halifax City Hall
              1841 Argyle Street
              Halifax, NS

    WHO:      Members of the Atlantic Mayors Congress
              (see attached for list of members)

At the time of this release, the following members of the Atlantic Mayors' Congress have confirmed their attendance:

    Mayor Leo Abbass, Happy Valley - Goose Bay, NL
    Warden Ronnie Baillie, Pictou County, NS
    Mayor Janice Barnes, Labrador City, NL
    Mayor Stephen Brunet, Bathurst, NB
    Mayor Gerry Cormier, Miramichi, NB
    Mayor Ivan Court, Saint John, NB
    Mayor Claude Elliott, Gander, NL
    Deputy Mayor Allan English, Paradise, NL
    Mayor Woodrow French, Conception Bay South, NL
    Mayor David Hanson, President, UMNB
    Mayor Al Hawkins, Grand Falls - Windsor, NL
    Deputy Mayor Merrill Henderson, Moncton, NB
    Mayor Peter Kelly, Halifax Regional Municipality, NS
    Mayor Clifford Lee, Charlottetown, PEI
    Mayor John Leefe, Region of Queens, NS
    Mayor Bruce MacIntosh, Campbellton, NB
    Mayor Barrie MacMillan, New Glasgow, NS
    Mayor Bill Mills, Truro, NS
    Deputy Mayor Laurie Murley, Town of Windsor, NS
    Warden Peter Newton, County of Annapolis, NS
    Warden John Patterson, Municipality of East Hants, NS
    Mayor Basil Stewart, Summerside, PEI
    Councillor Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl, NL
    Mayor Bob Taylor, Colchester County, NS
    Mayor Brad S. Woodside, Fredericton, NB


For further information: For further information: Massimo Bergamini, (613) 290-5317

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890