MONTREAL, Aug. 28, 2012 /CNW Telbec/ - Given the enormous success of the discovery tour REVIVING BON-SECOURS, Discovering a chapel and neighbourhood that have disappeared, the Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum has decided to present this guided activity until Sunday, October 7, 2012. Offered on Saturday and Sunday afternoons in both French and English, this remarkable tour will take visitors to the archaeological site located under Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel in Old Montreal.
Before the archaeological digs of 1996-1997, we knew little about Montreal's first stone chapel founded by Marguerite Bourgeoys in 1675. Archaeological digs uncovered the remains of the chapel as well as a mass of elements and artefacts that, taken together, have helped us to build its portrait. All of these clues combined with the museum historian's archival researches have helped the historical illustrator, Francis Back, to create a totally new work: a chapel and neighbourhood in 1708 that have since disappeared.
This guided visit of the archaeological site will allow visitors to discover a fascinating archaeological site and to follow the various paths that have led to a new original work created by Francis Back.
SOURCE: Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys
For further information:
Extended until Sunday, October 7th (weekend presentations only)
Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum
400 Saint Paul Street East, Old Montreal (Champ-de-Mars Métro)
Telephone: (514) 282-8670 extension 221
Valérie Lafleur, responsable des communications
Telephone: (514) 282-8670 extension 223