Quebec Community Newspapers Association Announces Winners of its 2017 Better Newspapers Competition

POINTE CLAIRE, QC, June 7, 2017 /CNW Telbec/ - The Quebec Community Newspapers Association Conference & Awards Gala, including the 37th Annual General Meeting and education sessions, took place on June 2, 2017 at the Hotel & Spa Mont Gabriel in Sainte-Adèle, Quebec.

The highlight of the evening was the QCNA Awards Gala honouring individuals and publications for outstanding achievements in journalism, photography, community newspaper production and sales. Categories range from Best Overall Newspaper and Best Editorial Page to Best Education Story and Best Investigative Story, among others.

Winners of the association's premier individual awards are:

Steve Ducharme, Nunatsiaq News – Paul Dumont-Frenette Outstanding Journalism Award
Lily Ryan and Sophia Ryan, Co-publishers Bulletin d'Aylmer, Pontiac Journal, and The West-Quebec Post - Lindsay Crysler Outstanding Achievement Award
David Broadman, The Suburban (All editions) – Joan Durnin Outstanding Salesperson Award
Robert Kautuk, Nunatsiaq News - Outstanding Photojournalism Award

Congratulations to all QCNA members on their outstanding achievements! For a list of all our winners visit

The Quebec Community Newspapers Association comprises 31 member newspapers with a combined readership of over 772,000 covering all regions in Quebec.


SOURCE Quebec Community Newspapers Association (QCNA)

For further information: Richard Tardif, Executive Director, Quebec Community Newspapers Association 514-697-6330 or by email at

Organization Profile

Quebec Community Newspapers Association (QCNA)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890