President Gorbachev, Former PM Campbell Call On Canada to Dispel 'Defeatism,'
Act on Climate

International leaders from business, science, arts join call to PM Harper

COPENHAGEN, Dec. 15 /CNW/ - President Mikhail Gorbachev and The Rt. Hon. Kim Campbell have joined prominent business leaders, scientists and artists calling on Prime Minister Harper to "dispel perceptions of defeatism" and to "rally the Canadian people" toward a clean energy economy in a joint letter delivered today.

The letter's authors point to the "considerable criticism" of Canada at international climate negotiations and urge the Prime Minister to recommit Canada to its historic international role. The signatories note that Canada is one of the world's top ten greenhouse gas emitters but also has "unparalleled potential" for clean energy. The authors warn Canada is "missing the economic opportunity of the twenty-first century."

Signatories to the initiative include: Margaret Atwood, Author; Bill Becker, Executive Director, US Presidential Climate Action Project; Dr. Martin Beniston, Director of the University of Geneva Institute of Environmental Sciences and IPCC author; Tzeporah Berman, Executive Director PowerUP Canada; The Rt. Honourable Kim Campbell; Neve Campbell, Actor; John Coo, President Green Cross Canada; Jean-Michel Cousteau, Oceans Future President; Louise Dennys, Executive Vice-President, Random House of Canada/Executive Publisher, The Knopf Random Canada Publishing Group; President Gorbachev, Founder Green Cross International; Luc Hardy, Venture Capitalist; Dr. Thomas Homer-Dixon, Author; Carl Honore, Journalist and Author; Dr. Mark Jaccard, Environmental economist & IPCC author; Adam Koniuszewski, COO Green Cross International, Climate Change Task Force Project Leader; Adam Kreek, Olympic Gold Medalist; James Hoggan, author of Climate Cover-Up; David Hughes, President, Global Sustainability Research Inc; Avrim Lazar, CEO Forest Products Association of Canada; Hunter Lovins, President & Founder, Natural Capitalism Solutions; Yann Martel, Author; Prof. Mohan Munasinghe, Vice Chair IPCC-AR4; Sarah Murphy, Pfizer Canada; Joanne Photiades, Senior Manager BDC the Development Bank of Canada; Dr John Polanyi, Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto, Nobel Laureate (1986); John Roy, Founder, RoyComm Group; Clayton Ruby, CM LLD, Canadian Lawyer; Caroline Tison, Executive Director, West Island Community Shares; Dr Andrew Weaver, Climate Scientist & IPPC author; Bruce Westwood, Founder, Westwood Creative Artists; Ronald Wright, author and Massey Lecturer.

Individuals can support this effort by sending their own letter at:

The joint letter and list of signatories is at:


For further information: For further information: Tzeporah Berman, PowerUP Canada: 45 50 10 60 33; Adam Koniuszewski, Green Cross International: 41 79 417 87 97

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Green News

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890