Ontario Hospital Association Welcomes New Board Chair

Jamie McCracken to strengthen the OHA's focus on leading health system progress through innovation and partnerships

TORONTO, Sept. 13, 2016 /CNW/ - Jamie McCracken, Board Chair of The Ottawa Hospital, has been named Chair of the Ontario Hospital Association's (OHA) Board of Directors.

Jamie McCracken has been a member of the OHA Board since 2011. He was elected to the position of Chair following the OHA's 2016 General Meeting of Members, held on September 8. Mr. McCracken, who, for the past year has served as the Board's Vice-Chair, has contributed to a number of important OHA initiatives. He is currently Chair of the Board's Special Committee on Strategic Planning, and is also a member of the Governance Nominating Committee of the Board. Mr. McCracken takes over from Pierre Noel, President and CEO of the Pembroke Regional Hospital who served as Chair for the past two years.

"I am excited to take on the role of Board Chair during this period of health system transformation," says Mr. McCracken. "With the potential for large-scale change around the corner, the OHA and our members are committed to helping shape and influence the health care system of the future through innovation and partnerships. Ontario hospitals are doing their best to advance the work underway in order to create a system that is truly patient-centred and sustainable for years to come."

"On behalf of the OHA Board of Directors and our members, I am pleased to welcome Jamie as the new chair of the Board of Directors," said Anthony Dale, OHA President and CEO. "Jamie brings a breadth of experience to the OHA with an extensive background in leadership and community service. He exudes passion in all his work, and it is a privilege to serve under Jamie's leadership. With a great deal of experience in health care and not-for-profit governance, Jamie is well-poised to guide the OHA and Ontario's hospitals through this period of significant transformation."

The OHA is pleased to announce the 2016-17 OHA Board of Directors: Roger Boyer II, Janet Cosier, Anthony Dale, Stacey Daub, Jeanette Despatie, Philip Griffin, Derek Graham, Brad Holman, Gillian Kernaghan, Jamie McCracken, Kwame McKenzie, Barry McLellan, Neil MacLean, Karim Mamdani, Pierre Noel, Wade Petranik, Mark Rizzo, Donald Sanderson, Altaf Stationwala, Eric Vandewall, and Gay Wrye. To view board member biographies, please visit www.oha.com.

Jamie McCracken 

Mr. McCracken retired as director of education for the Ottawa Catholic School Board after a 34-year career in education. He has been a teacher, department head, vice principal, principal, supervisory officer, associate director and director of education. He has also lectured in the principal and supervisory officer graduate courses at the University of Ottawa and Queens University.

Mr. McCracken has been an active member on the board of directors of a number of organizations in the Ottawa community including: Campaign Chairperson, United Way of Ottawa; Chairperson, United Way Board of Directors; Chairperson, Success by Six; President, Catholic Education Foundation of Ottawa; director, Shepherds of Good Hope; and director, University of Ottawa Heart Institute.

Currently, he is Chair, Board of Governors, The Ottawa Hospital.

Honours include:

  • The Benemerenti Medal conferred by His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI for distinguished service to the Catholic Church and Community;

  • The Distinguished Civic Award for Humanitarianism awarded by the City of Ottawa;

  • The Distinguished Leadership Award conferred by The Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officers Association;

  • The EXL Award for exemplary leadership presented by The Canadian Association of School System Administrators;

  • Distinguished Service Award from the Ontario Catholic Trustees Association; and

  • Community Builder/ Volunteer of the Year Award from United Way Ottawa.

May 20, 2010 was proclaimed as James G. McCracken Day in the City of Ottawa in recognition of his contributions to education and community service.

Ontario Hospital Association

The Ontario Hospital Association (OHA) is the voice of Ontario's public hospitals. Founded in 1924, the OHA uses advocacy, education and partnerships to build a strong, innovative and sustainable health care system for all Ontarians.

SOURCE Ontario Hospital Association

For further information: Samantha Grant, OHA Government Relations Consultant, 416-205-1376 or sgrant@oha.com


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890