Notice from the Office of the Secretary - Ontario Securities Commission

TORONTO, Feb. 23, 2015 /CNW/ - The Securities Proceedings Advisory Committee (SPAC) is an advisory committee to the Office of the Secretary to the Commission which provides comment and advice on a variety of policy and procedural initiatives relating to proceedings before the Ontario Securities Commission's administrative tribunal (Tribunal). Since its inception in January 2013, SPAC members have provided insightful feedback on the Tribunal's initiatives and the Office of the Secretary would like to thank all SPAC members for their valuable contributions over the past two years.

SPAC consists of 10 to 12 members who are members in good standing of the Law Society of Upper Canada and who are currently practicing, or have within the last three years practiced, in the area of securities litigation. The Office of the Secretary is pleased to announce the following counsel have extended their terms and will continue to serve on SPAC:

Wendy Berman                      

Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP                               

Nigel Campbell                      

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP                                 

Alexander Cobb                     

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP                                  

Emily Cole                             

Miller Thomson LLP                                                  

James Doris                            

Davies, Ward Phillips & Vineburg LLP                    

James D. G. Douglas             

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP                                     

Linda Fuerst                           

Lenczner Slaght Royce Smith Griffin LLP               

James H. Grout                      

Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP                                   

Paul LeVay                            

Stockwoods LLP                                                       

Melissa MacKewn                 

Crawley MacKewn Brush LLP                                 

Janice L. Wright                     

Wright Temelini LLP                                                 


Members of SPAC have staggered terms for either two or three years. The Commission will publish a notice in Winter 2017 inviting applications for the next group of SPAC members.

The following Staff of the Enforcement Branch of the Commission also serve as members of SPAC:

Tom Atkinson                        

Director, Enforcement, OSC

Kelly Gorman                        

Deputy Director, Enforcement, OSC

Karen Manarin                       

Deputy Director, Enforcement, OSC


The Secretary to the Commission is also a member of SPAC and acts as the chair of SPAC. The following Staff of the Office of the Secretary also serve as members of SPAC:

Josée Turcotte                        

Secretary, Secretary's Office, OSC (Chair of SPAC)

Robert Blair                           

Senior Legal Counsel, Office of the Secretary, OSC

Carolyn Slon                          

Legal Counsel, Office of the Secretary, OSC (secretary to SPAC)


Additional information about SPAC, including its mandate is available on the OSC's website.


SOURCE Ontario Securities Commission

For further information: For media inquiries:; For investor inquiries: OSC Contact Centre, 416-593-8314, 1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890