Nominate an outstanding Canadian journalist for CJF Lifetime Achievement Award

TORONTO, Jan. 21, 2016 /CNW/ - Who has made an outstanding contribution over their lives to journalism in Canada? Tell us your choice by nominating someone for The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) Lifetime Achievement Award. The nomination deadline is Feb. 19, 2016.

"Journalism has been defined as 'the first rough draft of history'," says Anthony Wilson-Smith, chair of the Lifetime Achievement Award jury and president and CEO of Historica Canada. "This award honours those who achieve that with special distinction - and sometimes shape history as well."

Among the items to be considered are: body of journalistic work during career; contribution to society through outstanding journalism; and recognition and respect from peers and community. Individuals who have worked in any type of media and in any journalism category are eligible for consideration, including the following: politics, general, business, arts and culture, sports and cartoon/humour.

Last year's winner was Michel Auger, the longtime crime reporter with Le Journal de Montréal who survived an attempt on his life. Best known for his exposés of organized crime, Auger's coverage of the long and violent rivalry among motorcycle gangs in Quebec in the 1990s is credited with helping to establish a provincial task force that eventually led to the end of the war and the jailing of many of its key figures. His reporting was informed by his underworld connections as well as police sources. In 2000, he was shot six times in the back during an attack by an unknown assailant, but went on to write a best-selling memoir (one of his several books), The Biker Who Shot Me.

"Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award is particularly touching, because it is in recognition of all the fieldwork I've done in 50 years in crime and justice, a world that isn't always so pleasant," says Auger.

Auger joined a list of esteemed journalists who have received the award, including Peter Bregg, Michael Maclear, Lise Bissonnette, Joe Schlesinger, Norman Webster, Knowlton Nash, June Callwood, Bernard Derome, Peter C. Newman, Peter Gzowski and Robert Fulford.

The winner will be presented at the CJF Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 16, 2016. Early-bird rates for tickets and tables are available until February 26.

Visit our website for award details and submit your nomination online.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Established in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement. Our signature events include an annual awards program featuring a must-attend industry gala where Canada's top newsmakers meet Canada's top news people. Through J-Talks, our popular speakers' series, we facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society and the ongoing challenges for media in the digital era. The foundation also supports journalism websites (English) and (French) and fosters opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Image with caption: "Michel Auger, longtime crime reporter with Le Journal de Montréal, was the recipient of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)". Image available at:

For further information: Natalie Turvey, Executive Director, The Canadian Journalism Foundation, 595 Bay Street, Suite 401, Toronto, ON M5G 2C2, Phone: 416-955-0396 e-mail:


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890