News Advisory - RBC Taylor Prize to Announce Winner on Monday, March 2

TORONTO, Feb. 27, 2015 /CNW/ -

Media welcome to cover (No luncheon seating provided)

Monday March 2, 2015
Luncheon: 12 noon / Announcement 1:30 p.m. 
Omni King Edward Hotel, Toronto

One of this year's five RBC Taylor Prize Finalists will be announced as the winner of the $25,000 prize on Monday, March 2nd. The announcement will take place at approximately 1:30 p.m. as part of a gala luncheon celebrating these important authors and their shortlisted books.

The Omni King Edward Hotel, Sovereign Ballroom, Main Level, 37 King St. East, Toronto

Meet this year's 2015 RBC Taylor Prize Finalists and learn about their books:
Plum Johnson (Toronto, Ontario) They Left Us Everything (Penguin Canada);
David O'Keefe (Montreal, Quebec) One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada's Tragedy at Dieppe (Random House Canada);
Barbara Taylor (London, England) The Last Asylum: A Memoir of Madness in our Times (Hamish Hamilton Canada);
M. G. Vassanji (Toronto, Ontario) And Home Was Kariakoo: A Memoir of East Africa (Doubleday Canada);
Kathleen Winter (Montreal, Quebec) Boundless (House of Anansi Press)

Prize Jurors & Foundation Members available for Interview/Comment:
RBC Taylor Prize Founder, Noreen Taylor; Prize Trustees Dr. David Staines and Vijay Parmar
The jurors for the 2015 prize are business leader and arts executive Ms. Kevin Garland (Toronto, Ontario), editor and columnist Martin Levin (Toronto, Ontario), and writer, lecturer, and previous Taylor Prize winner (2013) Andrew Preston (Cambridge, England).

Since 2000, this prestigious national book prize has been a driving force behind the growth and recognition of literary non-fiction. Now in its 14th awarding, the Prize celebrates Canada's rich literary heritage, and the exceptional authors who captivate us with their stories. The Prize commemorates the life and work of the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists.

With the support of its sponsors, this privately funded Prize is presented annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety of thought and perception. Initially presented every two years, the Prize has been awarded annually since 2004.

For more information visit: and follow us
Facebook: RBC Taylor Prize

SOURCE RBC Taylor Prize

For further information: Media contacts and for coverage requirements & interviews: Stephen Weir, (416) 489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890