National Business Book Award Announces Short List

Evolution of media and communications prominent in this year's short list

TORONTO, March 25, 2015 /CNW/ - The short list for the National Business Book Award, one of Canada's most prestigious literary awards, was announced today by co-sponsors PwC and BMO Financial Group.  The three short-listed authors will vie for a $20,000 prize that will be awarded on April 16, 2015, to the author of the most outstanding Canadian business-related book published in 2014.

The short list for the National Business Book Award is:

  • Alfred Hermida, Tell Everyone: Why We Share and Why it Matters, published by Doubleday Canada. Hermida, a journalist and associate professor at the University of British Columbia, presents an analysis of the ways we frame and share news and information using social media. Using real examples and academic studies, Hermida de-bunks the general assumption that a small number of influencers dominate the process.

  • Jacques Poitras, Irving vs. Irving: Canada's Feuding Billionaires And The Stories They Won't Tell, published by Viking Canada, an imprint of Penguin Canada Books. Poitras, a reporter and author, profiles Canada's third wealthiest family and the rise of their empire. Incorporating family anecdotes, Poitras describes how this family of entrepreneurs came to dominate the economic and political affairs of Atlantic Canada.

  • Clive Veroni, Spin: How Politics has the Power to Turn Marketing on its Head, published by House of Anansi Press Inc. Veroni, a marketing strategist and author, challenges the assumption that big budgets and slick talent make corporations the leaders in marketing and consumer influence. Instead he argues that modern political campaigning has become so cutting edge, corporations now need to adapt many of the lessons from politics.

The prestigious and independent jury evaluates eligible nominations based on five key criteria including originality, relevance, excellence of writing, thoroughness of research and depth of analysis.

The National Business Book Award jury is chaired by Peter Mansbridge, Chief Correspondent, CBC Television News. Other jurors include: William Dimma, Chairman Emeritus, Home Capital Group, Inc.; Deirdre McMurdy, Adjudicator; Businessman David Denison; author and publisher Anna Porter and The Honourable Pamela Wallin.

Celebrating its 30th year, the National Business Book Award is an annual celebration of Canadian authors of outstanding non-fiction business-related books. It continues to gain attention from not only the Canadian business world, but also publishers, authors, journalists, academics, economists and business leaders internationally.

The winner of the National Business Book Award will be announced on April 16, 2015 at a luncheon in Toronto hosted by PwC and BMO Financial Group.

Last year's National Business Book Award winners were Jim Leech and Jacquie McNish for their book The Third Rail: Confronting Our Pension Failures.

Follow us on Twitter @NBBAward and visit for more information.

SOURCE National Business Book Award

For further information: To arrange an interview or attend the event please contact: Mary Ann Freedman, Freedman & Associates Inc. for the National Business Book Award, Tel: 416-868-1500, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890