MP Romeo Saganash, Ryan McMahon, & over forty presentations at the University of Ottawa June 15-17 during the national conference on "The Future of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Broadcasting"

OTTAWA, June 13, 2017 /CNW/ - According to its Three-Year Plan 2017-2020, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) will review the Native Broadcasting Policy (CRTC 1990-89) next year. The gatherings entitled "The Future of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Broadcasting" aim to bring practitioners, policy makers and academics together as allies to prepare a context for respectful and meaningful consultation. The national event in Ottawa will continue the conversation by sharing the outcomes from five regional events, over forty presentations, and keynote speeches by MP Romeo Saganash (Abitibi-Baie James-Nunavik-Eeyou) and Ryan McMahon (Makoons Media Group).

Discussion Topics: The CRTC Process & CRTC Policy

  1. How would you like the CRTC consultation process to be conducted?
  2. How should the review process itself be changed?
  3. What should the policy entail?
  4. What are the elements to include or exclude?
  5. What changes could be required to the 1991 Broadcasting Act to ensure the policy is upheld?
    See Native Radio Policy - CRTC Public Notice 1990-89 (

The national event will take place in Ottawa, Ontario, from June 15-17, 2017, in the Alex Trebek Alumni Building (University of Ottawa, 157 Séraphin-Marion Private). Participants are invited to register online at

Presenters in Ottawa will include:
[in order of appearance]
The Hon. Mélanie Joly – Minister of Canadian Heritage;
Mike Metatawabin – Wawatay Communications Society;
Banchi Hanuse – Nuxalk Radio;
Monique Manatch – Rapid Lake Radio;
Andrew Cardozo – Pearson Centre, former CRTC Commissioner 1997-2003;
Commissioner Adriana Labardini – Federal Telecommunications Institute (Mexico);
Commissioner Chen-Ling Hung – National Communications Commission (Taiwan);
Loris Taylor – Native Public Media (US);
John Ahni Schertow – Intercontinental Cry;
MP Romeo Saganash –  Abitibi-Baie James-Nunavik-Eeyou;
Professor Lorna RothConcordia University;
Ryan McMahon – Makoons Media Group.


Press kit, program, live streaming:
EN –

SOURCE The Future of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Broadcasting

For further information: Associate Professor Genevieve Bonin, University of Ottawa - (613) 562-5800 ext. 3839; John Gagnon, CEO Wawatay Communications Society - 1-800-243-9059


Organization Profile

The Future of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Broadcasting

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890