Members Named for Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission

The Honourable Justice Joyce L. Pelletier, Named as Commission Chair

TORONTO, May 8, 2017 /CNW/ - The newly established Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission will soon be consulting with residents in Kenora-Rainy River and Timmins-James Bay as it undertakes a review of these two northern-most Ontario electoral districts. The Commission is mandated to recommend whether these electoral districts be split into three or four new electoral districts.

The Commission has three months to complete its work.  The Commission will submit a report with its final recommendations to the Attorney General by August 1, 2017.

To inform its recommendation, the Commission is required to undertake public consultations.  Details on the consultations will be posted to our website when available.

Quick Facts

  • In December 2016, the Representation Act, 2015 was amended to establish a five member Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission. Its mandate is to review the electoral district boundaries of Kenora—Rainy River and Timmins—James Bay and make recommendations about the creation of one or two more electoral districts in the geographic area. For the upcoming general election in June 2018, this could increase the number of electoral districts to be 123 or 124.
  • The Representation Act, 2015 requires the Commission to be composed of a current or former Ontario judge as the Commission's Chair, the Chief Electoral Officer of Ontario, a member of a university faculty in Ontario, and two community representatives who identify as Indigenous persons.
  • The Commissioners, who were all appointed by May 2, 2017, are: Justice Joyce L. Pelletier (Chair); Greg Essensa; Michael Pal, Eric Fisher and Theresa Hall.


"The Commission will consider, among other statutory requirements, many factors for effective representation, including, the density of populations, representation of Indigenous people, community interests, accessibility as well as existing municipal boundaries and geographical features" — Justice Joyce L. Pelletier, FNEBC Chair

Aussi disponible en français

SOURCE Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission

For further information: Media Inquiries,

Organization Profile

Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890