MEDIA ADVISORY - The Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards celebrates journalistic excellence at its biggest event ever

TORONTO, June 6, 2013 /CNW/ - Only a handful of tickets are left for the 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards on June 13 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. A record number of guests will celebrate excellence in journalism and honour those who have made significant contributions to journalism throughout their careers. The country's top journalists, media executives and business leaders will be among the more than 500 guests.

The 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards

The Fairmont Royal York
Canadian Room, Conference Level

Thursday, June 13
Reception 6:00 p.m.
Awards Ceremony 7:00 p.m.

This year, Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent for CBC News
and co-anchor of The Lang & O'Leary Exchange, will host the event.

The recipient of the Honorary Tribute is The New York Times. David Carr, business columnist and culture reporter with the Times, will accept the tribute on behalf of the editorial team. Ken Taylor, former Canadian ambassador to Iran, will present the tribute.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Michael Maclear, broadcast journalist, war correspondent and independent filmmaker.  Lisa LaFlamme, chief anchor and senior editor of CTV National News will present the award.

The evening's award presenters also include Steve Paikin, Dawna Friesen and Tom Clark.

Winners of the CJF online ad auction will be announced that evening.

Major media outlets supporting the event include The Canadian Press, CBC/Radio-Canada, CTV News, The Globe and Mail, Postmedia Network Inc., Rogers Communications, Shaw Communications, Toronto Star and Winnipeg Free Press.

Also attending are executives from leading Canadian businesses and organizations, including Accenture, Aimia Inc., Barrick Gold Corporation, BMO Financial Group, Brookfield Asset Management, Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, CIBC, Cineplex Media, CN, Ipsos Public Affairs, Ivanhoe Cambridge, Manulife Financial, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada, RBC, Scotiabank, Sun Life Financial, TELUS, TD Bank Group, Torys LLP, and York University.

Benefits of purchasing a table include the opportunity to host two journalists and this year, media guests include Ian Austen, James Cowan, Andrew Coyne, Derek DeCloet, Kevin Donovan, Robyn Doolittle, Matt Galloway, Howard Green, Chantal Hébert, Heather Hiscox, Linden MacIntyre, Stephen Maher, Steve Maich, Stuart McLean, Steven Meurice, Wendy Mesley, Kevin Newman, Seamus O'Regan, Grant Robertson, Lloyd Robertson, Michelle Shephard, Beverly Thomson, Martin Regg Cohn, Diana Swain, Anna Maria Tremonti, Paul Wells, and others.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations for their support: BMO Financial Group, Labatt Breweries of Canada, Postmedia Network Inc., Accenture, RBC, Scotiabank, Medtronic, Waste Management and the Jackman Foundation.

Thank you also to CNW, CBC News, Porter Airlines, National Post, The Globe and Mail, and Toronto Star for their in-kind support.

For tickets, table and other information, visit or contact Follow #CJFawards.

SOURCE: Canadian Journalism Foundation

For further information:

Media requests should be directed to:
Wendy Kan, Program Manager
Phone: 416-955-0394 e-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890