Media Advisory - Press Freedom Awards to be announced May 3 in Ottawa

OTTAWA, April 27 /CNW Telbec/ - Canadian journalists confronting threats to their free expression rights and international cartoonists whose work illustrates those rights will be honored at the World Press Freedom Awards luncheon in Ottawa on Monday, May 3.

The Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom (CCWPF) will announce the winner of the 12th Press Freedom Award and the three winners of the 10th International Editorial Cartoon Competition in a news release on Sunday May 2nd embargoed for 9PM.

The 10th annual International Editorial Cartoon Competition will recognize the best submissions on the theme, "The 'right' not to be offended is not a right: How can we encourage vigorous debate while being respectful of religious sensibilities?"

The event is presented by the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom:

    What:   World Press Freedom Awards luncheon
    Who:    Moderator:          Don Newman, former Parliamentary Editor,
                                CBC News
            Principal Speaker:  Mr. Maziar Bahari, Newsweek correspondent on
                                "Press Freedom in Chains, the saga of a
                                Canadian Journalist's Ordeal in Iran,"
                                describing his personal experience of being
                                jailed and tortured for covering the Iranian
                                election of 2009.
    When:   Monday, May 3 at 11:30 am (viewing exhibition/cash bar opens)
    Where:  National Arts Centre, Panorama Room, Ottawa
    Luncheon Tickets: $40. Reserve by calling 613-237-3575

Plan coverage and download the winning cartoons beforehand. Newspapers may download copies of the winning and runner-up cartoons from the CCWPF website

Please advise us if you will be sending a camera crew, or have special needs. The programme will commence sharp at 12 noon.

(Note: A News Media table is available. However, if you wish to have lunch please reserve by telephoning 613 237-3575 or download the registration form at Luncheon is $40)


The Awards are presented by the Canadian Committee on World Press Freedom, chaired by Jim Orban, Publisher of The Ottawa Citizen. Since 1992, when UNESCO dedicated May 3 as World Press Freedom Day, organizations around the globe have held events to honour media workers who have sacrificed life and liberty to bring their stories to the public.

"Threats to press freedom and freedom of expression know no geographic boundaries, as this year's awards will attest," said CCWPF President David Gollob. "This year's Awards come in the wake of even more widespread violence against journalists. At least 101 journalists and media workers were killed in 2009, including Canadian Michelle Lang who died in Afghanistan on December 30, 2009, a significant increase from the 87 journalists killed in 2008. When powerful forces seek to muzzle a free press we all suffer."

The World Press Freedom Award goes to a Canadian journalist or media worker who has made a significant contribution to press freedom during the past 15 months. It consists of a prize of $2,000 and a certificate of honour from the Canadian Commission for UNESCO and CCWPF.

The International Cartoon Competition carries awards of $1,500, $870 and $500.

SOURCE Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom

For further information: For further information: Media Contacts: Bob Carty, (613) 730-1007,, or David Gollob, (613) 301-6162 (cell),

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890