Media Advisory - Atlantic Mayors' Congress to meet in Charlottetown, Oct.
15-16, 2009

HALIFAX, Oct. 13 /CNW Telbec/ - Mayors from Atlantic Canada's largest municipalities will meet in Charlottetown, P.E.I., Oct. 15-16, in the Council Chambers at City Hall.

The mayors, members of the Atlantic Mayors' Congress, will discuss pressing issues facing their communities, including federal infrastructure funding and support for Atlantic ferries, and what the federal government should do to assist Atlantic Canada.

The meetings are closed to news media. A news conference is scheduled for Oct. 15 at 3:30 p.m. (all times ADT). Individual mayors may be available to meet reporters following the news conference.

    Note: The news conference will be accessible to media from outside
    Charlottetown via a moderated teleconference by calling 1-866-250-4892
    (conference ID: 4171971)

    WHAT:    Atlantic Mayors' Congress meeting and news conference

    WHEN:    Meeting: Oct. 15-16, 2009
             Media availability Mayors Lee and Kelly: Oct. 15, 8:45 - 9:00
             News conference: Oct. 15, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

    WHERE:   Council Chambers, Charlottetown City Hall

    WHO:     Members of the Atlantic Mayors' Congress
             (see attached for list of members)

    At the time of this release, the following members of the Atlantic
    Mayors' Congress have confirmed their attendance:

    Bathurst, His Worship Mayor Stephen Brunet
    Charlottetown, His Worship Mayor Clifford Lee
    Colchester County, His Worship Mayor Bob Taylor
    Conception Bay South, His Worship Mayor Woodrow French
    Corner Brook, His Worship Mayor Neville Greeley
    Corner Brook, Councillor Priscilla Boucher
    Fredericton, His Worship Mayor Brad S. Woodside
    Goose Bay, His Worship Mayor Leo Abbass
    Halifax Regional Municipality, His Worship Mayor Peter Kelly
    Kings County, Warden Fred Whalen
    Miramichi, His Worship Mayor Gerry Cormier
    Moncton, His Worship Mayor George LeBlanc
    Municipality of the District of Guysborough, Warden Lloyd Hines
    Rexton, His Worship Mayor David Hanson
    Summerside, His Worship Mayor Basil Stewart
    Summerside, Deputy Mayor Bruce MacDougall
    Truro, Deputy Mayor Sharon Byers


For further information: For further information: Rena Garshowitz, (613) 230-0183 x 3; or Massimo Bergamini, (613) 290-5317

Organization Profile


More on this organization

InterChange Public Affairs

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890